69 failures · $12.9 million in assets
Bank failures in 1936
69 insured banks failed in 1936, up from 25 in 1935. Together they reported $12.9 million in assets, with no estimated loss recorded. The largest was The Union Bank of Uhrichsville, Ohio, at $1.9 million. Missouri led with 19 failures, ahead of North Dakota with 10.
Week by week
- $1 billion or more
- $100 million to $1 billion
- under $100 million
Where they failed
Failures by state in 1936: Missouri 19, North Dakota 10, Indiana 7, Tennessee 5, Michigan 3, Kentucky 3, Texas 3, South Dakota 3, Kansas 3, Oklahoma 2, Mississippi 2, Louisiana 2 and others.
Explore
Filter and sort the 1936 failures by state, size or loss. Other years: 1935 · 1937.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 10, 1936 | Citizens Bank of Erwin | Erwin, TN | $159 thousand | not estimated |
| February 1, 1936 | Farmers & Merchants Bank | Adams, TN | $14 thousand | not estimated |
| February 1, 1936 | The First National Bank of Clinton | Clinton, OK | not reported | not estimated |
| February 5, 1936 | Peoples Bank | Cole Camp, MO | $186 thousand | not estimated |
| February 15, 1936 | Farmers & Mechanics Bank | Ann Arbor, MI | not reported | not estimated |
| February 15, 1936 | The Ann Arbor Savings Bank | Ann Arbor, MI | not reported | not estimated |
| February 15, 1936 | The First National Bank & Trust Co. | Ann Arbor, MI | not reported | not estimated |
| February 17, 1936 | Merchants and Farmers Bank | Starkville, MS | $213 thousand | not estimated |
| February 18, 1936 | Columbia State Bank | Columbia City, IN | $906 thousand | not estimated |
| February 20, 1936 | The Bank of High Hill | High Hill, MO | $106 thousand | not estimated |
| February 27, 1936 | Farmers Bank of Leonard | Leonard, MO | $69 thousand | not estimated |
| March 2, 1936 | Peoples Bank | Franklinton, KY | $93 thousand | not estimated |
| March 5, 1936 | Farmers and Merchants Bank of Linn | Linn, MO | $228 thousand | not estimated |
| March 18, 1936 | Benjamin State Bank | Benjamin, TX | $254 thousand | not estimated |
| March 18, 1936 | Farmers State Bank | Amherst, SD | $56 thousand | not estimated |
| March 18, 1936 | Citizens Bank of Bosworth | Bosworth, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| March 24, 1936 | The Farmers State Bank | Riley, KS | not reported | not estimated |
| March 25, 1936 | Donelson Bank & Trust Co. | Donelson, TN | not reported | not estimated |
| March 27, 1936 | Clifton State Bank | Clifton, TN | $30 thousand | not estimated |
| March 28, 1936 | The Earl Park State Bank | Earl Park, IN | $181 thousand | not estimated |
| March 31, 1936 | Leland Cooperative Bank | Leland, IA | $150 thousand | not estimated |
| March 31, 1936 | Bank of Holcomb | Holcomb, MS | $23 thousand | not estimated |
| April 10, 1936 | Cross Plains Bank | Cross Plains, TN | $50 thousand | not estimated |
| April 18, 1936 | Hardin Bank | Hardin, KY | $72 thousand | not estimated |
| April 21, 1936 | Farmers & Merchants Bank | Revillo, SD | $128 thousand | not estimated |
| April 22, 1936 | Norborne Trust Company | Norborne, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| April 23, 1936 | Guaranty Bond State Bank | Miles, TX | $202 thousand | not estimated |
| May 9, 1936 | Growers Exchange Bank | St. Joseph, MO | $53 thousand | not estimated |
| May 13, 1936 | Ford City State Bank | Ford City, MO | $62 thousand | not estimated |
| May 14, 1936 | Farmers Bank of New Truxton | New Truxton, MO | $71 thousand | not estimated |
| May 23, 1936 | West Monroe State Bank | West Monroe, LA | $520 thousand | not estimated |
| May 23, 1936 | Koshkonong State Bank | Koshkonong, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| May 28, 1936 | Holton State Bank | Holton, IN | $204 thousand | not estimated |
| June 5, 1936 | The Christian County Bank | Ozark, MO | $339 thousand | not estimated |
| June 5, 1936 | Community Bank | Smithton, MO | $75 thousand | not estimated |
| June 17, 1936 | The Peoples State Bank of Flat Rock | Flat Rock, IL | not reported | not estimated |
| June 29, 1936 | Central Bank and Trust Company | Newark, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| July 3, 1936 | Walton Equitable Bank | Walton, KY | not reported | not estimated |
| July 10, 1936 | Farmers State Bank | Densmore, KS | $80 thousand | not estimated |
| July 11, 1936 | The State Bank of Sarcoxie | Sarcoxie, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| July 15, 1936 | D'auria Bank & Trust Company | Newark, NJ | $1.2 million | not estimated |
| July 16, 1936 | The East Hampton Bank & Trust Co. | East Hampton, CT | $1.2 million | not estimated |
| August 14, 1936 | Cumberland Bank | Cumberland, IN | $87 thousand | not estimated |
| August 14, 1936 | Bank of Magnolia | Magnolia, MO | $70 thousand | not estimated |
| August 22, 1936 | Durham State Bank | Durham, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| August 31, 1936 | Commercial Bank of Stanberry | Stanberry, MO | $173 thousand | not estimated |
| September 12, 1936 | The Wellsville Bank | Wellsville, MO | $325 thousand | not estimated |
| September 15, 1936 | Security Bank | Kingfisher, OK | not reported | not estimated |
| September 17, 1936 | Farmers State Bank | Tindall, MO | $70 thousand | not estimated |
| October 3, 1936 | Stover Bank | Stover, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| October 9, 1936 | Desoto Bank and Trust Company | Mansfield, LA | $1.2 million | not estimated |
| October 27, 1936 | The Union Bank | Uhrichsville, OH | $1.9 million | not estimated |
| December 1, 1936 | Bank of Cambria | Cambria, WI | not reported | not estimated |
| December 5, 1936 | Scottsburg State Bank | Scottsburg, IN | $563 thousand | not estimated |
| December 5, 1936 | Citizens State Bank | Palmyra, IN | $350 thousand | not estimated |
| December 7, 1936 | The Union State Bank | Crothersville, IN | $248 thousand | not estimated |
| December 7, 1936 | The Brewster State Bank | Brewster, KS | not reported | not estimated |
| December 12, 1936 | The First State Bank of Lignite | Lignite, ND | $83 thousand | not estimated |
| December 18, 1936 | The First National Bank of Centerville | Centerville, SD | $569 thousand | not estimated |
| December 19, 1936 | First International Bank | Minot, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 19, 1936 | Northern and Dakota Trust Company | Fargo, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 19, 1936 | The First International Bank of Williston | Williston, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 21, 1936 | Bank of Berthold | Berthold, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 21, 1936 | First State Bank | Coteau, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 21, 1936 | First State Bank of Max | Max, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 21, 1936 | First State Bank of Powers Lake | Powers Lake, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 21, 1936 | Reservation State Bank | Makoti, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 21, 1936 | The Cummings State Bank | Cummings, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 31, 1936 | Central State Bank of Sherman | Sherman, TX | $312 thousand | not estimated |