41 failures since 1934 · $130 million estimated loss
Bank failures in North Dakota
North Dakota has 41 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 1.2% of the national total and the 24th-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1936, with 10. No bank there has failed since 2000; the last was First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Fargo in 1991. The largest by assets was Midwest Federal Savings Bank of Minot, with $955 million, in 1990.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 10, 1991 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Fargo | Fargo, ND | $50.0 million | $3.0 million |
| October 26, 1990 | The Farmers & Merchants Bank of Sheyenne | Sheyenne, ND | $2.9 million | $826 thousand |
| September 13, 1990 | First National Bank of Crosby | Crosby, ND | $12.4 million | $77 thousand |
| February 22, 1990 | The First State Bank of Regent, North Dakota | Regent, ND | $9.7 million | $2.9 million |
| January 26, 1990 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Bismarck | Bismark, ND | $113 million | $16.7 million |
| January 4, 1990 | Midwest Federal Savings Bank | Minot, ND | $955 million | $93.6 million |
| December 1, 1989 | Central Dakota Bank | Lehr, ND | $13.9 million | $2.7 million |
| August 24, 1989 | The Dakota Bank | Grand Forks, ND | $31.2 million | $2.9 million |
| January 21, 1988 | Williston Basin State Bank | Williston, ND | $14.0 million | $4.4 million |
| October 15, 1987 | Citizens State Bank of Ray | Ray, ND | $11.7 million | $1.9 million |
| May 8, 1987 | Farmers State Bank | Maddock, ND | $11.9 million | $1.1 million |
| February 12, 1980 | First National Bank of Carrington | Carrington, ND | $12.4 million | $221 thousand |
| April 18, 1940 | First State Bank | Wishek, ND | $136 thousand | not estimated |
| April 18, 1940 | Ashley State Bank | Ashley, ND | $247 thousand | not estimated |
| April 17, 1940 | Bank of Reeder | Reeder, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| March 18, 1939 | State Bank of Bremen | Bremen, ND | $61 thousand | not estimated |
| January 16, 1939 | Bank of Scranton | Scranton, ND | $153 thousand | not estimated |
| November 26, 1938 | Farmers State Bank of Anamoose | Anamoose, ND | $62 thousand | not estimated |
| September 24, 1938 | Stockmens State Bank | Medora, ND | $87 thousand | not estimated |
| August 31, 1938 | First Bank of Flaxton | Flaxton, ND | $80 thousand | not estimated |
| May 31, 1938 | German State Bank of Beulah | Beulah, ND | $122 thousand | not estimated |
| April 19, 1938 | First State Bank | Turtle Lake, ND | $186 thousand | not estimated |
| April 9, 1938 | The First State Bank | Colfax, ND | $117 thousand | not estimated |
| March 14, 1938 | First State Bank | Kulm, ND | $212 thousand | not estimated |
| November 30, 1937 | Sterling State Bank | Sterling, ND | $121 thousand | not estimated |
| November 1, 1937 | First State Bank | Center, ND | $80 thousand | not estimated |
| October 30, 1937 | Farmers & Merchants Bank of Elgin | Elgin, ND | $57 thousand | not estimated |
| October 23, 1937 | Farmers State Bank | Wyndmere, ND | $100 thousand | not estimated |
| September 25, 1937 | Burt State Bank | Burt, ND | $63 thousand | not estimated |
| April 3, 1937 | First International Bank | Noonan, ND | $192 thousand | not estimated |
| January 14, 1937 | Sargent County Bank | Forman, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 21, 1936 | The Cummings State Bank | Cummings, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 21, 1936 | Reservation State Bank | Makoti, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 21, 1936 | First State Bank of Powers Lake | Powers Lake, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 21, 1936 | First State Bank of Max | Max, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 21, 1936 | First State Bank | Coteau, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 21, 1936 | Bank of Berthold | Berthold, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 19, 1936 | The First International Bank of Williston | Williston, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 19, 1936 | Northern and Dakota Trust Company | Fargo, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 19, 1936 | First International Bank | Minot, ND | not reported | not estimated |
| December 12, 1936 | The First State Bank of Lignite | Lignite, ND | $83 thousand | not estimated |