114 failures since 1934 · $3.0 billion estimated loss
Bank failures in Kansas
Kansas has 114 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 3.2% of the national total and the ninth-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1989, with 21. Since 2000 there have been 13; the most recent was Small Business Bank on July 17, 2026. The largest by assets was Franklin Savings Association of Ottawa, with $9.3 billion, in 1990.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 17, 2026 | Small Business Bank | Lenexa, KS | $72.9 million | $5.7 million |
| July 28, 2023 | Heartland Tri-State Bank | Elkhart, KS | $139 million | $42.7 million |
| October 23, 2020 | Almena State Bank | Almena, KS | $65.7 million | $15.9 million |
| October 13, 2017 | The Farmers and Merchants State Bank of Argonia | Argonia, KS | $33.0 million | $280 thousand |
| July 20, 2012 | Heartland Bank | Leawood, KS | $96.0 million | $363 thousand |
| August 12, 2011 | The First National Bank of Olathe | Olathe, KS | $538 million | $103 million |
| October 22, 2010 | Hillcrest Bank | Overland Park, KS | $1.6 billion | $275 million |
| October 15, 2010 | Security Savings Bank, F.S.B. | Olathe, KS | $453 million | $53.1 million |
| July 23, 2010 | Thunder Bank | Sylvan Grove, KS | $28.2 million | $6.7 million |
| December 11, 2009 | SolutionsBank | Overland Park, KS | $511 million | $93.4 million |
| June 19, 2009 | First National Bank of Anthony | Anthony, KS | $157 million | $33.2 million |
| March 20, 2009 | TeamBank, N.A. | Paola, KS | $670 million | $135 million |
| August 22, 2008 | The Columbian Bank and Trust Company | Topeka, KS | $735 million | $334 million |
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 2, 1993 | Midland Bank of Kansas | Mission, KS | $124 million | $12.9 million |
| April 2, 1993 | The Pioneer Savings and Loan Association | Prairie Village, KS | $133 million | $36.3 million |
| April 2, 1993 | College Boulevard National Bank | Overland Park, KS | $203 million | $15.4 million |
| December 18, 1992 | The Bremen State Bank | Bremen, KS | $2.7 million | $722 thousand |
| November 13, 1992 | The Overland Park Savings and Loan Association | Overland Park, KS | $213 million | $6.4 million |
| June 4, 1992 | The Home State Bank, Longton, Kansas | Longton, KS | $4.2 million | $730 thousand |
| June 13, 1991 | Bank of Horton | Horton, KS | $167 million | $4.3 million |
| May 10, 1991 | First Federal Savings Bank of Newton | Newton, KS | $126 million | $1.5 million |
| May 3, 1991 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Pittsburg | Pittsburg, KS | $291 million | $5 thousand |
| April 12, 1990 | The Bazine State Bank | Bazine, KS | $16.9 million | $2.0 million |
| March 9, 1990 | The Hiawatha Savings and Loan Association | Hiawatha, KS | $49.2 million | $38.4 million |
| February 16, 1990 | Franklin Savings Association | Ottawa, KS | $9.3 billion | $38.2 million |
| January 18, 1990 | Colonial Savings, A FA | Prairie Village, KS | $136 million | $16.6 million |
| December 7, 1989 | The Garnett Savings and Loan Association | Garnett, KS | $13.6 million | $794 thousand |
| October 19, 1989 | Mid Kansas Federal Savings and Loan Association of Wichita | Wichita, KS | $762 million | $72.8 million |
| August 31, 1989 | The Burr Oak State Bank | Burr Oak, KS | $4.4 million | $457 thousand |
| August 10, 1989 | Peoples Heritage Federal Savings and Loan Association | Salina, KS | $1.8 billion | $707 million |
| August 3, 1989 | Barnard State Bank | Barnard, KS | $5.0 million | $976 thousand |
| May 18, 1989 | First National Bank at Oswego | Oswego, KS | $24.0 million | $1.9 million |
| April 6, 1989 | First of Kansas Building and Savingsa | Hays, KS | $53.9 million | $6.0 million |
| March 16, 1989 | The Farmers State Bank, Bogue, Kansas | Bogue, KS | $8.0 million | $1.7 million |
| March 2, 1989 | The Barber County Savings and Loan Association | Medicine Lodge, KS | $47.5 million | $15.4 million |
| March 2, 1989 | Colonial Savings Association of America | Liberal, KS | $70.3 million | $45.7 million |
| March 2, 1989 | Mid-America Federal Savings and Loan Association | Parsons, KS | $83.3 million | $6.2 million |
| March 2, 1989 | Peoples Savings and Loan Association | Parsons, KS | $84.3 million | $13.8 million |
| March 2, 1989 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Coffeyville | Coffeyville, KS | $90.6 million | $45.7 million |
| March 2, 1989 | Topeka Savings, A Federal Savings and Loan Association | Topeka, KS | $96.6 million | $50.3 million |
| March 2, 1989 | First Federal Savings Bank of Kansas | Wellington, KS | $156 million | $59.9 million |
| March 2, 1989 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Hutchinson | Hutchinson, KS | $184 million | $75.1 million |
| March 2, 1989 | Shawnee Federal Savings and Loan Association | Topeka, KS | $221 million | $6 thousand |
| March 2, 1989 | Valley Federal Savings and Loan Association of Hutchinson | Hutchinson, KS | $222 million | $103 million |
| February 17, 1989 | Sun Savings Association, F. A. | Kansas City, KS | $189 million | $66.5 million |
| February 17, 1989 | Anchor Savings Association | Kansas City, KS | $834 million | $133 million |
| February 16, 1989 | The Home State Bank | Arcadia, KS | $1.7 million | $263 thousand |
| September 8, 1988 | The Sylvia State Bank | Sylvia, KS | $5.9 million | $1.5 million |
| April 14, 1988 | Jennings Bank | Jennings, KS | $7.1 million | $736 thousand |
| March 3, 1988 | The Home State Bank | Russell, KS | $59.9 million | $10.7 million |
| February 18, 1988 | The Farmers and Merchants Bank of Hill City | Hill City, KS | $16.5 million | $5.0 million |
| February 3, 1988 | The Bank of Louisburg | Louisburg, KS | $20.7 million | $4.4 million |
| January 21, 1988 | Cedar Vale State Bank | Cedar Vale, KS | $11.7 million | $2.6 million |
| November 19, 1987 | The Timken State Bank | Timken, KS | $3.1 million | $1.3 million |
| November 19, 1987 | The Alexander State Bank | Alexander, KS | $9.2 million | $2.3 million |
| October 20, 1987 | Topeka Savings Association | Topeka, KS | $112 million | not estimated |
| September 24, 1987 | The Mayfield State Bank of Mayfield, Kansas | Mayfield, KS | $6.8 million | $2.4 million |
| September 24, 1987 | The Murdock State Bank | Murdock, KS | $9.2 million | $2.1 million |
| September 17, 1987 | The Talmage State Bank | Talmage, KS | $6.7 million | $1.3 million |
| June 11, 1987 | The Benton State Bank | Benton, KS | $9.4 million | $3.0 million |
| April 2, 1987 | The First National Bank of Herington | Herington, KS | $20.7 million | $4.9 million |
| February 27, 1987 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Beloit, Beloit, Kansas | Beloit, KS | $82.9 million | $22.4 million |
| February 5, 1987 | Boulevard State Bank | Wichita, KS | $102 million | $20.1 million |
| December 4, 1986 | Hays State Bank | Hays, KS | $27.8 million | $15.5 million |
| November 13, 1986 | The Hoxie State Bank | Hoxie, KS | $35.8 million | $9.0 million |
| September 25, 1986 | The Home State Bank | La Crosse, KS | $14.7 million | $5.5 million |
| August 21, 1986 | United Bank of Minneapolis | Minneapolis, KS | $22.7 million | $2.4 million |
| August 14, 1986 | The State Exchange Bank | Yates Center, KS | $27.8 million | $7.5 million |
| August 7, 1986 | The Easton State Bank | Eston, KS | $17.2 million | $3.7 million |
| July 24, 1986 | McCune State Bank | McCune, KS | $9.1 million | $1.7 million |
| July 17, 1986 | The Bank of Kiowa | Kiowa, KS | $10.9 million | $5.1 million |
| June 19, 1986 | The First National Bank of Chanute | Chanute, KS | $45.4 million | $9.5 million |
| June 5, 1986 | The Citizens State Bank of McCracken Kans. | McCracken, KS | $11.4 million | $6.0 million |
| May 15, 1986 | The Citizens State Bank of St. Francis | St. Francis, KS | $24.2 million | $8.4 million |
| May 1, 1986 | Bank of Nortonville | Nortonville, KS | $7.2 million | $2.5 million |
| March 27, 1986 | First State Bank | White Cloud, KS | $6.1 million | $1.4 million |
| January 9, 1986 | The First National Bank of White City | White City, KS | $9.6 million | $3.4 million |
| November 21, 1985 | Decatur County National Bank of Oberlin | Oberlin, KS | $18.4 million | $4.0 million |
| November 21, 1985 | The Farmers and Merchants State Bank of Rush County | La Crosse, KS | $32.6 million | $10.0 million |
| September 25, 1985 | The Sedan State Bank, Sedan, Kansas | Sedan, KS | $28.2 million | $8.3 million |
| August 23, 1985 | The Bank of Bronson | Bronson, KS | $9.6 million | $3.0 million |
| August 14, 1985 | State Bank of Herndon, Kansas | Herndon, KS | $6.2 million | $1.6 million |
| July 25, 1985 | Kansas American Bank | Overland Park, KS | $25.7 million | $6.4 million |
| July 25, 1985 | Citizens State Bank of El Dorado | El Dorado, KS | $31.2 million | $1.5 million |
| July 23, 1985 | The First National Bank of Onaga | Onaga, KS | $22.4 million | $2.2 million |
| July 18, 1985 | Eskridge State Bank | Eskridge, KS | $10.1 million | $5.3 million |
| July 2, 1985 | Madison Bank | Madison, KS | $8.4 million | $2.5 million |
| June 20, 1985 | Farmers State Bank of Dexter, Kansas | Dexter, KS | $4.3 million | $1.3 million |
| June 13, 1985 | The First State Bank | Edna, KS | $8.3 million | $2.8 million |
| May 2, 1985 | The Bank of Commerce | Chanute, KS | $66.8 million | $15.9 million |
| December 20, 1984 | The Farmers State Bank | Selden, KS | $14.6 million | $8.0 million |
| December 11, 1984 | University Bank of Wichita | Wichita, KS | $4.7 million | $2.1 million |
| November 29, 1984 | The Strong City State Bank | Strong City, KS | $5.0 million | $1.8 million |
| October 25, 1984 | The First National Bank of Gaylord | Gaylord, KS | $6.4 million | $2.5 million |
| October 10, 1984 | The Rexford State Bank | Rexford, KS | $5.8 million | $4.5 million |
| August 22, 1984 | The First State Bank | Thayer, KS | $12.2 million | $5.1 million |
| January 27, 1984 | Indian Springs State Bank | Kansas City, KS | $30.9 million | $8.5 million |
| September 2, 1983 | The Douglass State Bank | Kansas City, KS | $35.4 million | $10.8 million |
| November 19, 1982 | North Kansas Savings Association | Beloit, KS | $36.5 million | $7.2 million |
| November 21, 1980 | Citizens State Bank of Galena | Galena, KS | $10.3 million | $974 thousand |
| August 8, 1980 | The Mission State Bank & Trust Company | Mission, KS | $86.4 million | $15.0 million |
| June 4, 1980 | The Citizens State Bank | Viola, KS | $2.0 million | $7 thousand |
| September 21, 1979 | The Farmers State Bank | Protection, KS | $5.0 million | not estimated |
| December 27, 1975 | The First State Bank of Jennings | Jennings, KS | $2.9 million | not estimated |
| July 7, 1967 | The Cedar Vale National Bank | Cedar Vale, KS | $4.1 million | not estimated |
| June 23, 1941 | The Exchange State Bank | Parsons, KS | not reported | not estimated |
| November 19, 1940 | The First National Bank of Burlingame | Burlingame, KS | $301 thousand | not estimated |
| December 6, 1939 | The State Bank of Liebenthal | Liebenthal, KS | $60 thousand | not estimated |
| November 25, 1939 | The Farmers State Bank | Cuba, KS | not reported | not estimated |
| December 7, 1936 | The Brewster State Bank | Brewster, KS | not reported | not estimated |
| July 10, 1936 | Farmers State Bank | Densmore, KS | $80 thousand | not estimated |
| March 24, 1936 | The Farmers State Bank | Riley, KS | not reported | not estimated |
| May 3, 1935 | First State Bank of Agra | Agra, KS | $129 thousand | not estimated |
| April 10, 1935 | The State Bank of Milford | Milford, KS | $118 thousand | not estimated |