70 failures since 1934 · $1.4 billion estimated loss
Bank failures in Tennessee
Tennessee has 70 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 2.0% of the national total and the 14th-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1984, with 12. Since 2000 there have been 7; the most recent was Trust Company Bank on April 29, 2016. The largest by assets was Tennessee Commerce Bank of Franklin, with $1.0 billion, in 2012.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 29, 2016 | Trust Company Bank | Memphis, TN | $19.0 million | $10.4 million |
| August 23, 2013 | Community South Bank | Parsons, TN | $387 million | $130 million |
| June 7, 2013 | Mountain National Bank | Sevierville, TN | $437 million | $33.3 million |
| June 15, 2012 | The Farmers Bank of Lynchburg | Lynchburg, TN | $164 million | $33.1 million |
| January 27, 2012 | BankEast | Knoxville, TN | $262 million | $74.1 million |
| January 27, 2012 | Tennessee Commerce Bank | Franklin, TN | $1.0 billion | $352 million |
| November 8, 2002 | Bank of Alamo | Alamo, TN | $58.5 million | $9.3 million |
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 12, 1992 | Cherokee Valley Federal Savings Bank | Cleveland, TN | $143 million | none |
| April 19, 1991 | Metropolitan Federal Bank, a federal savings bank | Nashville, TN | $985 million | $112 million |
| February 8, 1991 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association | Waynesboro, TN | $18.2 million | $2.1 million |
| February 1, 1991 | George Washington Savings and Loan Association Incorporated | Jonesborough, TN | $14.6 million | $1.3 million |
| October 25, 1990 | First National Bank of Jackson | Jackson, TN | $73.7 million | $5.2 million |
| August 3, 1990 | The Tennessee Savings Bank | Cookeville, TN | $40.0 million | $10.9 million |
| March 9, 1990 | Investor Federal Savings Bank | Nashville, TN | $81.1 million | $16.1 million |
| July 20, 1989 | Home Federal Savings and Loan Association | Memphis, TN | $204 million | $20.0 million |
| March 9, 1989 | United Guaranty Federal Savings Bank | Tullahoma, TN | $11.5 million | $2.7 million |
| March 9, 1989 | Lincoln Federal Savings and Loan Association | Mt. Carmel, TN | $72.2 million | $19.2 million |
| March 9, 1989 | Century Federal Savings Bank | Trenton, TN | $73.9 million | $15.3 million |
| March 9, 1989 | Germantown Trust Savings Bank | Germantown, TN | $136 million | $38.2 million |
| February 24, 1989 | First Valley Savings and Loan Association Incorporated | Pikeville, TN | $11.9 million | $5.1 million |
| July 18, 1986 | Farmers' Bank | Trimble, TN | $21.4 million | $7.4 million |
| April 22, 1986 | Union County Bank | Maynardville, TN | $32.9 million | $3.5 million |
| September 12, 1985 | First Security Bank of Dickson | Dickson, TN | $14.8 million | $1.8 million |
| September 4, 1985 | The Bank of Loretto | Loretto, TN | $25.6 million | $3.9 million |
| June 28, 1985 | First Bank and Trust | Tracy City, TN | $21.1 million | $2.9 million |
| June 7, 1985 | Magnolia Federal Savings and Loan Association | Knoxville, TN | $4.8 million | $1.5 million |
| June 7, 1985 | Community Federal Savings and Loan Association | Nashville, TN | $22.7 million | $3.6 million |
| February 8, 1985 | Peoples Bank & Trust Company | Wartburg, TN | $24.4 million | $6.3 million |
| February 1, 1985 | Citizens Fidelity Bank | Bristol, TN | $18.2 million | $4.1 million |
| November 30, 1984 | The Dayton Bank & Trust Company | Dayton, TN | $51.4 million | $6.3 million |
| November 16, 1984 | Savannah Savings and Loan Association | Savannah, TN | $19.3 million | $9.7 million |
| October 12, 1984 | Oneida Bank & Trust Company | Oneida, TN | $6.3 million | $3.0 million |
| July 24, 1984 | Coalmont Savings Bank | Coalmont, TN | $25.7 million | $7.8 million |
| June 27, 1984 | American Bank | Saint Joseph, TN | $33.0 million | $13.3 million |
| June 15, 1984 | The Lawrence County Bank | Lawrenceburg, TN | $25.2 million | $6.5 million |
| May 18, 1984 | Bledsoe County Bank | Pikeville, TN | $5.3 million | $2.1 million |
| April 27, 1984 | Citizens Bank of Monroe County | Telico Plains, TN | $21.1 million | $6.4 million |
| April 6, 1984 | Watauga Valley Bank | Elizabethton, TN | $15.4 million | $4.8 million |
| April 6, 1984 | First Security Bank | Erwin, TN | $22.5 million | $6.5 million |
| January 20, 1984 | City and County Bank of Jefferson County | White Pine, TN | $21.7 million | $4.5 million |
| January 6, 1984 | Farmers Bank and Trust | Winchester, TN | $48.6 million | $8.1 million |
| September 16, 1983 | Warren County Bank | McMinniville, TN | $19.6 million | $8.8 million |
| August 26, 1983 | United Southern Bank of Clarksville | Clarksville, TN | $9.9 million | $6.0 million |
| August 12, 1983 | First Commerce Bank of Hawkins County | Rogersville, TN | $43.1 million | $16.8 million |
| July 29, 1983 | First Peoples Bank of Washington County | Johnson City, TN | $178 million | $72.5 million |
| July 8, 1983 | The First Central Bank | Smithville, TN | $18.9 million | $5.5 million |
| May 27, 1983 | City and County Bank of Roane County | Kingston, TN | $42.2 million | $13.1 million |
| May 27, 1983 | United American Bank in Hamilton County | Chattanooga, TN | $134 million | $19.1 million |
| May 27, 1983 | City and County Bank of Anderson County | Lake City, TN | $143 million | $59.4 million |
| May 27, 1983 | United Southern Bank of Nashville | Nashville, TN | $144 million | $37.8 million |
| May 27, 1983 | City and County Bank of Knox County | Knoxville, TN | $262 million | $114 million |
| May 6, 1983 | Smith County Bank | Carthage, TN | $33.0 million | $4.7 million |
| September 3, 1982 | Hohenwald Bank & Trust Co. | Hohenwald, TN | $27.1 million | $981 thousand |
| April 30, 1982 | Carroll County Bank | Huntington, TN | $8.7 million | $2.1 million |
| February 20, 1982 | Bank of Yorkville | Yorkville, TN | $7.1 million | $1.4 million |
| June 28, 1980 | City and County Bank of Campbell County | Jellico, TN | $39.8 million | $8.1 million |
| June 16, 1979 | Bank of Enville | Enville, TN | $3.5 million | not estimated |
| February 16, 1976 | The Hamilton National Bank of Chattanooga | Chattanooga, TN | $412 million | not estimated |
| December 11, 1939 | Maynardville State Bank | Maynardville, TN | $218 thousand | not estimated |
| April 28, 1939 | Ripley Savings Bank & Trust Company | Ripley, TN | $794 thousand | not estimated |
| August 19, 1938 | Home Bank & Trust Company | Winchester, TN | $401 thousand | not estimated |
| July 22, 1938 | Bethel Springs Bank | Bethel Springs, TN | not reported | not estimated |
| February 10, 1938 | Peoples Bank & Trust Company | Sparta, TN | not reported | not estimated |
| July 17, 1937 | Farmers & Merchants Bank | Newbern, TN | $264 thousand | not estimated |
| April 15, 1937 | Robbins Bank & Trust Company | Robbins, TN | not reported | not estimated |
| April 10, 1936 | Cross Plains Bank | Cross Plains, TN | $50 thousand | not estimated |
| March 27, 1936 | Clifton State Bank | Clifton, TN | $30 thousand | not estimated |
| March 25, 1936 | Donelson Bank & Trust Co. | Donelson, TN | not reported | not estimated |
| February 1, 1936 | Farmers & Merchants Bank | Adams, TN | $14 thousand | not estimated |
| January 10, 1936 | Citizens Bank of Erwin | Erwin, TN | $159 thousand | not estimated |