Failed Bank List

Bank failures in Kentucky

Kentucky has 40 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 1.1% of the national total and the 25th-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1937, with 5. Since 2000 there have been 3; the most recent was Louisa Community Bank on October 25, 2019. The largest by assets was Irwin Union Bank, F.S.B. of Louisville, with $518 million, in 2009.

Bank failures in Kentucky per year023461934: 11935: 11936: 31937: 51938: 51939: 41940: 21942: 11954: 11970: 21976: 11983: 11984: 11986: 21987: 11988: 21990: 21991: 22009: 12013: 12019: 1194019501960197019801990200020102020
Failures per year in Kentucky. By decade: 1930s 19, 1940s 3, 1950s 1, 1970s 3, 1980s 7, 1990s 4, 2000s 1, 2010s 2. Most failures by city: Louisville (3), Olive Hill (2), Louisa (2).
3 failures since 2000, newest first
ClosedBankLocationTotal assetsEst. loss
October 25, 2019Louisa Community BankLouisa, KY$28.2 million$4.3 million
April 19, 2013First Federal BankLexington, KY$93.0 million$7.8 million
September 18, 2009Irwin Union Bank, F.S.B.Louisville, KY$518 million$114 million
37 failures from 1934 to 1999, newest first
ClosedBankLocationTotal assetsEst. loss
August 30, 1991United Federal Savings BankPrestonsburg, KY$39.9 millionnone
August 30, 1991Future Federal Savings BankLouisville, KY$422 million$29.1 million
April 19, 1990Corinth Deposit National BankCorinth, KY$8.7 million$402 thousand
February 2, 1990Henderson Home Federal Savings and Loan AssociationHenderson, KY$50.4 million$2.2 million
June 3, 1988Larue Federal Savings and Loan AssociationHodgenville, KY$12.0 million$4.0 million
March 11, 1988First Federal Savings and Loan AssociationPaducah, KY$131 million$31.8 million
December 3, 1987Peoples BankOlive Hill, KY$40.9 million$7.6 million
June 26, 1986Union Deposit BankUnion, KY$5.8 million$1.3 million
June 26, 1986Continental National Bank of KentuckyLouisville, KY$10.1 million$405 thousand
April 19, 1984Gamaliel BankGamaliel, KY$22.8 million$4.7 million
April 15, 1983Sparta-Sanders State BankSparta, KY$19.0 million$6.6 million
June 25, 1976Mt. Zion Deposit BankMt. Zion, KY$507 thousandnot estimated
October 8, 1970Berea Bank and Trust CompanyBerea, KY$5.9 millionnot estimated
June 25, 1970Farmers Bank of PetersburgPetersburg, KY$1.1 millionnot estimated
October 1, 1954Bank of WhitesvilleWhitesville, KY$1.0 millionnot estimated
January 31, 1942The Louisa National BankLouisa, KYnot reportednot estimated
April 19, 1940Bank of MorelandMoreland, KY$142 thousandnot estimated
March 23, 1940Farmers BankDry Ridge, KY$363 thousandnot estimated
November 25, 1939Commercial Bank of LibertyLiberty, KY$548 thousandnot estimated
September 1, 1939Providence Citizens BankProvidence, KY$306 thousandnot estimated
March 4, 1939The Bank of Rocky HillRocky Hill, KY$163 thousandnot estimated
February 21, 1939Peoples State BankFrankfort, KYnot reportednot estimated
December 21, 1938Farmers State Bank of LondonLondon, KY$355 thousandnot estimated
October 11, 1938Bank of LockportLockport, KY$68 thousandnot estimated
July 11, 1938Bank of MilburnMilburn, KY$79 thousandnot estimated
June 22, 1938Central Savings BankNewport, KYnot reportednot estimated
January 11, 1938Worthville Deposit BankWorthville, KY$141 thousandnot estimated
October 30, 1937Carter County Commercial BankOlive Hill, KY$139 thousandnot estimated
October 29, 1937First State BankBarbourville, KY$425 thousandnot estimated
July 3, 1937Bank of SturgisSturgis, KY$246 thousandnot estimated
June 30, 1937The Taylor National Bank of CampbellsvilleCampbellsville, KY$1.7 millionnot estimated
June 26, 1937Ghent Deposit BankGhent, KY$223 thousandnot estimated
July 3, 1936Walton Equitable BankWalton, KYnot reportednot estimated
April 18, 1936Hardin BankHardin, KY$72 thousandnot estimated
March 2, 1936Peoples BankFranklinton, KY$93 thousandnot estimated
December 16, 1935The Farmers BankWest Louisville, KY$55 thousandnot estimated
August 6, 1934Bank of LewisportLewisport, KY$81 thousandnot estimated

Filter Kentucky failures in the explorer · All states