171 failures since 1934 · $3.9 billion estimated loss
Bank failures in Oklahoma
Oklahoma has 171 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 4.8% of the national total and the fifth-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1987, with 36. Since 2000 there have been 8; the most recent was The First National Bank of Lindsay on October 18, 2024. The largest by assets was The First National Bank and Trust Company of Oklahoma City of Oklahoma City, with $1.8 billion, in 1986.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| October 18, 2024 | The First National Bank of Lindsay | Lindsay, OK | $108 million | $45.1 million |
| June 27, 2014 | The Freedom State Bank | Freedom, OK | $22.8 million | $3.7 million |
| January 24, 2014 | The Bank of Union | El Reno, OK | $317 million | $93.3 million |
| June 8, 2012 | First Capital Bank | Kingfisher, OK | $44.4 million | $8.7 million |
| March 11, 2011 | First National Bank of Davis | Davis, OK | $90.2 million | $29.8 million |
| January 28, 2011 | The First State Bank | Camargo, OK | $44.5 million | $33.6 million |
| July 9, 2010 | Home National Bank | Blackwell, OK | $585 million | $65.8 million |
| July 31, 2009 | First State Bank of Altus | Altus, OK | $90.9 million | $26.0 million |
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 26, 1992 | American Bank of Commerce | Oklahoma City, OK | $13.5 million | $2.3 million |
| March 19, 1992 | Farmers & Merchants Bank | Tryon, OK | $4.3 million | $940 thousand |
| August 29, 1991 | First National Bank and Trust Company, Blackwell, Oklahoma | Blackwell, OK | $33.5 million | $1.1 million |
| July 19, 1991 | Clinton Savings and Loan Association | Clinton, OK | $22.2 million | $2.4 million |
| April 26, 1991 | Red River Federal Savings and Loan Association | Lawton, OK | $422 million | none |
| April 19, 1991 | Chisholm Federal Savings and Loan Association | Kingfisher, OK | $154 million | none |
| April 19, 1991 | Cimarron Federal Savings and Loan Association | Muskogee, OK | $782 million | none |
| March 22, 1991 | American Federal Savings and Loan Association of Ada | Ada, OK | $110 million | $44.6 million |
| March 22, 1991 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chickasha | Chickasha, OK | $161 million | $4.3 million |
| March 8, 1991 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Wewoka | Wewoka, OK | $32.9 million | $5.2 million |
| December 13, 1990 | First State Bank | Lexington, OK | $7.5 million | $883 thousand |
| August 24, 1990 | Broken Arrow Federal Savings and Loan Association | Broken Arrow, OK | $26.9 million | $5.0 million |
| August 16, 1990 | Capitol Bank & Trust | Oklahoma City, OK | $33.1 million | $4.1 million |
| July 26, 1990 | First National Bank | Purcell, OK | $10.9 million | $1.5 million |
| July 26, 1990 | The Bank of Wilson | Wilson, OK | $13.0 million | $1.8 million |
| June 28, 1990 | American National Bank | Elk City, OK | $14.8 million | $1.4 million |
| June 28, 1990 | Brookwood National Bank | Oklahoma City, OK | $26.9 million | $5.6 million |
| June 14, 1990 | Exchange National Bank of Del City | Del City, OK | $43.2 million | $7.0 million |
| March 15, 1990 | Bank of Meeker | Meeker, OK | $15.5 million | $3.8 million |
| March 9, 1990 | Peoples Federal Savings and Loan Association | Bartlesville, OK | $106 million | $10.8 million |
| February 16, 1990 | State Federal Savings and Loan Association | Tulsa, OK | $526 million | $82.6 million |
| February 8, 1990 | The First National Bank of Colbert | Colbert, OK | $17.9 million | $3.9 million |
| December 14, 1989 | North Side State Bank | Tulsa, OK | $20.4 million | $4.5 million |
| December 13, 1989 | City National Bank of Sayre | Sayre, OK | $21.0 million | $3.8 million |
| November 16, 1989 | Sooner Federal Savings and Loan Association | Tulsa, OK | $1.5 billion | $153 million |
| October 26, 1989 | Great Plains Federal Savings and Loan Association of Weatherford | Weatherford, OK | $99.8 million | $20.0 million |
| October 19, 1989 | Park Avenue Bank, National Association | Oklahoma City, OK | $17.9 million | $776 thousand |
| October 12, 1989 | North Bank, National Association | Oklahoma City, OK | $12.4 million | $1.1 million |
| October 5, 1989 | Family FSB | Sapulpa, OK | $50.9 million | $4.1 million |
| October 5, 1989 | American Home Savings and Loan Association | Edmond, OK | $96.7 million | $13.7 million |
| August 3, 1989 | First Bank and Trust Company | Yale, OK | $28.5 million | $8.3 million |
| July 20, 1989 | Utica National Bank & Trust Company | Tulsa, OK | $165 million | $48.0 million |
| July 13, 1989 | Cross Roads Savings and Loan Association | Checotah, OK | $16.8 million | $14.6 million |
| May 31, 1989 | The First State Bank | Forgan, OK | $11.7 million | $365 thousand |
| May 18, 1989 | The Bank of Edmond, National Association | Edmond, OK | $8.1 million | $680 thousand |
| April 13, 1989 | Allied Oklahoma Bank, National Association | Oklahoma City, OK | $58.3 million | $11.2 million |
| March 30, 1989 | Harvard Bank | Tulsa, OK | $23.1 million | $4.0 million |
| March 16, 1989 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Seminole | Seminole, OK | $33.3 million | $5.5 million |
| March 16, 1989 | The Duncan Savings and Loan Association | Duncan, OK | $149 million | $17.9 million |
| March 16, 1989 | Continental Federal Savings and Loan Association | Oklahoma City, OK | $645 million | $199 million |
| January 27, 1989 | Oakwood National Bank | Enid, OK | $23.0 million | $7.4 million |
| January 12, 1989 | Rolling Hills State Bank | Piedmont, OK | $13.2 million | $1.8 million |
| December 16, 1988 | First Southwest Bank | Eldorado, OK | $9.8 million | $2.4 million |
| December 8, 1988 | Waukomis State Bank | Waukomis, OK | $12.0 million | $1.6 million |
| December 8, 1988 | First Bank & Trust Co. | Duncan, OK | $42.0 million | $9.6 million |
| November 10, 1988 | The First National Bank of Gracemont | Gracemont, OK | $6.6 million | $1.0 million |
| November 10, 1988 | Miami National Bank | Miami, OK | $9.2 million | $2.4 million |
| November 10, 1988 | Bank of the Northwest | Woodward, OK | $19.5 million | $4.6 million |
| October 27, 1988 | Medical Center State Bank | Oklahoma City, OK | $8.7 million | $2.1 million |
| September 29, 1988 | First State Bank | Seminole, OK | $12.2 million | $1.6 million |
| September 22, 1988 | The Security State Bank | Comanche, OK | $9.0 million | $1.6 million |
| September 22, 1988 | The First State Bank in Talihina | Talihina, OK | $15.8 million | $2.8 million |
| September 15, 1988 | Town and Country Bank | Bixby, OK | $30.8 million | $19.3 million |
| September 1, 1988 | American Bank of Muskogee | Muskogee, OK | $28.6 million | $10.8 million |
| August 31, 1988 | Peoples Federal Savings and Loan Association of Ardmore | Ardmore, OK | $49.9 million | $8.1 million |
| August 31, 1988 | Heritage Savings and Loan Association of Elk City | Elk City, OK | $80.8 million | $82.7 million |
| August 31, 1988 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Elk City | Elk City, OK | $107 million | $95.0 million |
| August 31, 1988 | Kingfisher Federal Savings and Loan Association | Kingfisher, OK | $124 million | $50.3 million |
| August 31, 1988 | Home Savings and Loan Association, FA | Bartlesville, OK | $173 million | $84.1 million |
| August 31, 1988 | Home Savings Bank, FA | Lawton, OK | $264 million | $93.9 million |
| August 31, 1988 | Phoenix Federal Savings and Loan Association | Muskogee, OK | $419 million | $142 million |
| August 31, 1988 | Frontier Federal Savings and Loan Association | Ponca City, OK | $1.0 billion | $382 million |
| August 18, 1988 | Citizens State Bank | Maud, OK | $11.1 million | $2.5 million |
| July 29, 1988 | The American Federal Savings and Loan Association | Anadarko, OK | $65.1 million | $102 million |
| July 21, 1988 | Union Bank and Trust | Bartlesville, OK | $115 million | $33.1 million |
| July 14, 1988 | The Security Bank | Warner, OK | $9.4 million | $601 thousand |
| June 30, 1988 | Republic National Bank | Norman, OK | $24.3 million | $7.7 million |
| April 8, 1988 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association | Shawnee, OK | $131 million | $54.1 million |
| March 31, 1988 | Union Bank and Trust Company | Oklahoma City, OK | $183 million | $11.1 million |
| March 25, 1988 | First National Bank of Del City | Del City, OK | $30.9 million | $9.0 million |
| March 24, 1988 | Cashion Community Bank | Cashion, OK | $6.7 million | $2.0 million |
| March 24, 1988 | Century Bank | Tulsa, OK | $70.8 million | $17.0 million |
| March 10, 1988 | The First National Bank and Trust Company of Cushing | Cushing, OK | $60.3 million | $20.0 million |
| February 18, 1988 | Mustang Community Bank | Mustang, OK | $9.4 million | $3.1 million |
| February 11, 1988 | First State Bank | Oilton, OK | $13.2 million | $3.1 million |
| January 29, 1988 | Territory Savings and Loan Association | Seminole, OK | $31.2 million | $49.9 million |
| December 3, 1987 | The Farmers National Bank of Cordell | Cordell, OK | $62.3 million | $33.6 million |
| November 19, 1987 | Republic Bank | Oklahoma City, OK | $49.1 million | $23.0 million |
| October 8, 1987 | Citizens Bank of Krebs | Krebs, OK | $14.7 million | $5.3 million |
| October 8, 1987 | United Services Bank | Hartshorne, OK | $15.3 million | $5.7 million |
| September 24, 1987 | The Citizens Bank | Drumright, OK | $35.1 million | $14.6 million |
| September 17, 1987 | Mustang National Bank | Mustang, OK | $12.1 million | $2.7 million |
| September 3, 1987 | The First National Bank of Hammon | Hammon, OK | $6.3 million | $1.6 million |
| September 3, 1987 | The First National Bank of Tipton | Tipton, OK | $8.2 million | $4.4 million |
| August 20, 1987 | The First State Bank, Willow, Okla. | Willow, OK | $6.7 million | $1.5 million |
| August 20, 1987 | Sunbelt Federal Savings and Loan Association | Watonga, OK | $65.5 million | $35.4 million |
| August 20, 1987 | American Exchange Bank & Trust Company | Norman, OK | $87.8 million | $40.6 million |
| August 13, 1987 | The First National Bank of Luther | Luther, OK | $17.1 million | $9.6 million |
| August 13, 1987 | First State Bank | Blanchard, OK | $23.6 million | $12.1 million |
| August 6, 1987 | The Security State Bank, Davenport, Oklahoma | Davenport, OK | $9.4 million | $3.6 million |
| August 6, 1987 | Security State Bank | Roosevelt, OK | $15.2 million | $9.0 million |
| July 30, 1987 | Bank of Granite | Granite, OK | $13.2 million | $2.8 million |
| July 30, 1987 | The First National Bank of Yukon | Yukon, OK | $40.3 million | $8.8 million |
| July 23, 1987 | Farmers & Merchants Bank | Eufaula, OK | $11.5 million | $3.5 million |
| June 29, 1987 | United Federal Savings and Loan Association | Durant, OK | $89.8 million | $46.4 million |
| June 25, 1987 | Eighty Niner Bank of Coyle | Coyle, OK | $6.6 million | $1.5 million |
| June 18, 1987 | Investors Federal Bank, FSB | El Reno, OK | $97.5 million | $60.0 million |
| April 9, 1987 | The First National Bank of Braman | Braman, OK | $12.2 million | $4.8 million |
| March 26, 1987 | The First State Bank in Billings | Billings, OK | $10.2 million | $1.2 million |
| March 20, 1987 | The Madill Bank and Trust Company | Madill, OK | $39.6 million | $11.3 million |
| March 17, 1987 | United Oklahoma Bank | Oklahoma City, OK | $172 million | $39.6 million |
| March 13, 1987 | Victor Federal Savings and Loan Association | Muskogee, OK | $601 million | $236 million |
| March 12, 1987 | Expressway Bank | Oklahoma City, OK | $19.1 million | $5.8 million |
| March 5, 1987 | First National Bank of Sapulpa | Sapulpa, OK | $7.5 million | $2.5 million |
| February 13, 1987 | Universal Savings Association FA | Chickasha, OK | $105 million | $40.4 million |
| February 12, 1987 | First City Bank of Atoka | Atoka, OK | $11.6 million | $2.5 million |
| February 11, 1987 | Community Bank | Seiling, OK | $5.1 million | $2.4 million |
| January 29, 1987 | Peoples State Bank & Trust Company | Holdenville, OK | $20.2 million | $5.1 million |
| January 22, 1987 | National Bank of Frederick | Frederick, OK | $23.8 million | $10.5 million |
| January 15, 1987 | The First National Bank of Rush Springs | Rush Springs, OK | $12.8 million | $3.7 million |
| January 15, 1987 | The First National Bank of Skiatook | Skiatook, OK | $14.0 million | $4.1 million |
| January 8, 1987 | The Security National Bank and Trust Company of Norman | Norman, OK | $199 million | $86.2 million |
| December 5, 1986 | Cordell National Bank | Cordell, OK | $78.6 million | $35.6 million |
| November 20, 1986 | Norman Bank of Commerce | Norman, OK | $43.5 million | $12.4 million |
| November 14, 1986 | First National Bank of Temple | Temple, OK | $7.3 million | $511 thousand |
| November 6, 1986 | The First National Bank and Trust Company of Enid | Enid, OK | $100 million | $27.4 million |
| October 23, 1986 | Stillwater Community Bank | Stillwater, OK | $22.6 million | $7.6 million |
| October 10, 1986 | Homestead Savings and Loan Association | Woodward, OK | $135 million | $104 million |
| September 10, 1986 | Central Bank and Trust of Tulsa | Tulsa, OK | $80.1 million | $13.4 million |
| September 4, 1986 | Fairview State Bank of Fairview, Okla. | Fairview, OK | $24.0 million | $6.5 million |
| August 14, 1986 | Citizens National Bank & Trust Co., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma | Oklahoma City, OK | $179 million | $55.8 million |
| August 7, 1986 | The First National Bank and Trust Company of El Reno | El Reno, OK | $47.2 million | $15.5 million |
| July 31, 1986 | First National Bank in Cordell | Cordell, OK | $23.0 million | $8.8 million |
| July 14, 1986 | The First National Bank and Trust Company of Oklahoma City | Oklahoma City, OK | $1.8 billion | $221 million |
| May 29, 1986 | The First National Bank and Trust Company of Norman | Norman, OK | $73.2 million | $28.7 million |
| May 8, 1986 | Bank of Commerce and Trust Company | Tulsa, OK | $183 million | $52.9 million |
| May 1, 1986 | The First National Bank of Carter | Carter, OK | $7.3 million | $1.5 million |
| February 21, 1986 | Elk City State Bank | Elk City, OK | $22.2 million | $7.9 million |
| January 9, 1986 | First State Bank | Cache, OK | $20.7 million | $4.1 million |
| December 5, 1985 | The Farmers and Merchants National Bank of Hennessey | Hennessy, OK | $28.7 million | $5.5 million |
| November 21, 1985 | The Dill State Bank | Dill City, OK | $15.5 million | $6.9 million |
| October 18, 1985 | First State Bank | Jet, OK | $12.3 million | $5.6 million |
| October 17, 1985 | Farmers State Bank in Afton, Oklahoma | Afton, OK | $10.8 million | $2.8 million |
| October 10, 1985 | Bank of Canton | Canton, OK | $22.4 million | $8.6 million |
| September 27, 1985 | The First National Bank in Terral | Terral, OK | $4.1 million | $1.7 million |
| August 8, 1985 | Security Bank & Trust Company | Midwest City, OK | $35.0 million | $6.9 million |
| July 11, 1985 | The Crossroads State Bank | Oklahoma City, OK | $17.8 million | $6.9 million |
| June 21, 1985 | First City Bank, National Association | Oklahoma City, OK | $97.8 million | $32.6 million |
| May 16, 1985 | Bank of Newcastle | Newcastle, OK | $32.6 million | $11.0 million |
| April 4, 1985 | Bank of Hunter | Hunter, OK | $3.0 million | $1.2 million |
| February 7, 1985 | The Farmers National Bank of Erick | Erick, OK | $16.8 million | $3.6 million |
| January 24, 1985 | The First National Bank in Marlow | Marlow, OK | $27.4 million | $7.6 million |
| October 19, 1984 | American State Bank | Thomas, OK | $23.9 million | $6.9 million |
| October 5, 1984 | The Farmers and Merchants Bank | Tecumseh, OK | $31.1 million | $6.1 million |
| September 21, 1984 | Security State Bank | Weatherford, OK | $50.1 million | $20.4 million |
| September 14, 1984 | Community Bank & Trust Company | Enid, OK | $32.2 million | $10.8 million |
| May 11, 1984 | First Continental Bank & Trust Company of Del City | Del City, OK | $107 million | $21.3 million |
| December 16, 1983 | The Bank of Red Oak | Red Oak, OK | $11.1 million | $2.8 million |
| December 16, 1982 | The Security State Bank | Mooreland, OK | $11.6 million | $1.4 million |
| July 5, 1982 | Penn Square Bank, National Association | Oklahoma City, OK | $436 million | $65.0 million |
| March 10, 1977 | First State Bank | Foss, OK | $2.0 million | not estimated |
| September 25, 1968 | Bank of Commerce | Tonkawa, OK | $5.6 million | not estimated |
| December 19, 1961 | The First National Bank of Maud | Maud, OK | $1.6 million | not estimated |
| August 11, 1961 | Bank of Earlsboro | Earlsboro, OK | $962 thousand | not estimated |
| July 29, 1960 | The Capitol Hill State Bank | Oklahoma City, OK | $7.5 million | not estimated |
| November 20, 1948 | The American National Bank of Pryor Creek | Pryor, OK | $1.8 million | not estimated |
| January 17, 1941 | The First National Bank of Anadarko | Anadarko, OK | $822 thousand | not estimated |
| June 13, 1940 | First State Bank of Stonewall | Stonewall, OK | $143 thousand | not estimated |
| April 6, 1939 | Bank of Amorita | Amorita, OK | $132 thousand | not estimated |
| September 15, 1936 | Security Bank | Kingfisher, OK | not reported | not estimated |
| February 1, 1936 | The First National Bank of Clinton | Clinton, OK | not reported | not estimated |
| April 4, 1935 | Guaranty State Bank | Clinton, OK | $264 thousand | not estimated |
| March 25, 1935 | The First State Bank | Cheyenne, OK | $427 thousand | not estimated |