122 failures since 1934 · $2.3 billion estimated loss
Bank failures in Missouri
Missouri has 122 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 3.5% of the national total and the eighth-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1936, with 19. Since 2000 there have been 16; the most recent was Community Bank of the Ozarks on December 14, 2012. The largest by assets was Home Savings Association of Kansas City, FA of Kansas City, with $2.9 billion, in 1991.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 14, 2012 | Community Bank of the Ozarks | Sunrise Beach, MO | $42.8 million | $13.4 million |
| October 19, 2012 | Excel Bank | Sedalia, MO | $186 million | $29.6 million |
| September 14, 2012 | Truman Bank | St. Louis, MO | $282 million | $39.5 million |
| July 13, 2012 | Glasgow Savings Bank | Glasgow, MO | $22.3 million | $1.4 million |
| October 7, 2011 | Sun Security Bank | Ellington, MO | $351 million | $93.1 million |
| October 15, 2010 | WestBridge Bank and Trust Company | Chesterfield, MO | $87.8 million | $22.4 million |
| October 15, 2010 | Premier Bank | Jefferson City, MO | $989 million | $309 million |
| May 14, 2010 | Southwest Community Bank | Springfield, MO | $101 million | $25.6 million |
| April 30, 2010 | BC National Banks | Butler, MO | $52.2 million | $8.6 million |
| April 30, 2010 | Champion Bank | Creve Coeur, MO | $196 million | $57.1 million |
| January 22, 2010 | Bank of Leeton | Leeton, MO | $20.1 million | $7.1 million |
| November 6, 2009 | Gateway Bank of St. Louis | St. Louis, MO | $26.9 million | $11.6 million |
| September 4, 2009 | First Bank of Kansas City | Kansas City, MO | $15.7 million | $7.5 million |
| April 17, 2009 | American Sterling Bank | Sugar Creek, MO | $166 million | $44.7 million |
| March 7, 2008 | Hume Bank | Hume, MO | $18.7 million | $3.8 million |
| January 25, 2008 | Douglass National Bank | Kansas City, MO | $52.8 million | $7.2 million |
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 14, 1994 | Superior National Bank | Kansas City, MO | $20.0 million | $3.7 million |
| November 20, 1992 | The Merchants Bank | Kansas City, MO | $1.5 billion | $123 million |
| November 13, 1992 | Metro North State Bank | Kansas City, MO | $472 million | $160 million |
| May 7, 1992 | First Exchange Bank of Madison County | Fredericktown, MO | $34.8 million | $1.6 million |
| May 7, 1992 | First Exchange Bank of North St. Louis County | Florissant, MO | $45.9 million | none |
| May 7, 1992 | First Exchange Bank of St. Louis | St. Louis, MO | $55.6 million | $7.1 million |
| May 7, 1992 | First Exchange Bank of Cape Girardeau | Cape Girardeau, MO | $84.4 million | $9.7 million |
| May 7, 1992 | Jackson Exchange Bank and Trust Company | Jackson, MO | $123 million | $16.4 million |
| April 3, 1992 | First State Savings Association | Sedalia, MO | $166 million | $2 thousand |
| August 23, 1991 | New Age Federal Savings and Loan Association of St Louis | St. Louis, MO | $9.2 million | $1.9 million |
| March 15, 1991 | Home Savings Association of Kansas City, FA | Kansas City, MO | $2.9 billion | $308 million |
| December 14, 1990 | Community Federal Savings and Loan Association | St. Louis, MO | $2.0 billion | $306 million |
| November 2, 1990 | Boonslick Savings and Loan Association | Boonville, MO | $70.2 million | $2.9 million |
| May 24, 1990 | Gentry County Bank | Albany, MO | $42.3 million | $5.6 million |
| May 4, 1990 | First Savings Bank and Trust, FSB | Independence, MO | $25.4 million | $9.9 million |
| January 26, 1990 | Colonial Federal Savings and Loan Association | Cape Girardeau, MO | $171 million | $8.0 million |
| January 11, 1990 | St Louis County Federal Savings and Loan Association of Ferguson | Ferguson, MO | $85.8 million | $10 thousand |
| July 5, 1989 | 102 Valley Bank | Hopkins, MO | $5.0 million | $1.7 million |
| June 29, 1989 | Mid Missouri Savings and Loan Association | Boonville, MO | $76.7 million | $16.6 million |
| June 29, 1989 | Missouri Savings Association | Clayton, MO | $661 million | $48.8 million |
| April 6, 1989 | Cass Federal Savings and Loan Association of St Louis | Florissant, MO | $52.4 million | $12.6 million |
| April 6, 1989 | Financial Federal Savings and Loan Association | Joplin, MO | $161 million | $44.8 million |
| April 6, 1989 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Southeast Missouri | Cape Girardeau, MO | $385 million | $33.4 million |
| February 17, 1989 | Blue Valley Federal Savings and Loan Association | Kansas City, MO | $839 million | $233 million |
| September 1, 1988 | Lakeland State Bank | Camden County, MO | $9.3 million | $546 thousand |
| August 4, 1988 | Farmers & Merchants Bank of Elmo | Elmo, MO | $9.2 million | $2.6 million |
| June 18, 1987 | First Midwest Bank | Maryville, MO | $25.6 million | $1.8 million |
| April 16, 1987 | First State Bank of Forest City | Forest City, MO | $6.5 million | $1.8 million |
| February 13, 1987 | First State Bank of King City, Missouri | King City, MO | $14.5 million | $5.5 million |
| January 29, 1987 | First State Bank of Pattonsburg | Pattonburg, MO | $5.9 million | $1.5 million |
| December 9, 1986 | The Citizens Bank of Windsor | Windsor, MO | $24.8 million | $7.7 million |
| November 6, 1986 | First Stock Yards Bank | St. Joseph, MO | $31.6 million | $8.7 million |
| November 6, 1986 | The Home Bank, Savannah, Missouri | Savannah, MO | $39.1 million | $7.5 million |
| October 2, 1986 | Missouri Farmers Bank, Maitland, Missouri | Mound City, MO | $26.0 million | $7.2 million |
| August 28, 1986 | Albany State Bank | Albany, MO | $4.7 million | $2.1 million |
| July 17, 1986 | Callao Community Bank | Callao, MO | $5.7 million | $1.0 million |
| April 10, 1986 | The Peoples Bank of Mercer | Mercer, MO | $10.4 million | $2.0 million |
| March 28, 1986 | Farmers and Merchants Bank of Huntsville, Missouri | Huntsville, MO | $16.6 million | $4.7 million |
| March 7, 1986 | The Citizens Bank of Winigan Missouri | Winigan, MO | $6.5 million | $1.3 million |
| January 30, 1986 | Bohemian Savings and Loan Association | St. Louis, MO | $242 million | $101 million |
| December 19, 1985 | Princeton State Bank | Princeton, MO | $18.4 million | $5.8 million |
| December 13, 1985 | The Farmers State Bank of Barry County, Exeter, Missouri | Exeter, MO | $4.2 million | $1.2 million |
| December 13, 1985 | Lake National Bank | Lake Ozark, MO | $19.8 million | $2.1 million |
| November 21, 1985 | The Clarksdale Bank of Clarksdale | Clarksdale, MO | $6.2 million | $2.0 million |
| October 11, 1985 | The First National Bank of St. Joseph | St. Joseph, MO | $193 million | $27.1 million |
| August 28, 1985 | Cardwell State Bank | Cardwell, MO | $6.2 million | $868 thousand |
| August 28, 1985 | Missouri Delta Bank | Hayti, MO | $9.1 million | $1.4 million |
| July 19, 1985 | Linn County State Bank | Linneus, MO | $5.4 million | $2.2 million |
| May 3, 1985 | Farmers State Bank, St. Joseph, Missouri | St. Joseph, MO | $50.9 million | $13.3 million |
| October 12, 1984 | Bucklin State Bank of Bucklin, Missouri | Bucklin, MO | $16.1 million | $7.1 million |
| June 18, 1984 | Republic Bank of Kansas City | Kansas City, MO | $41.3 million | $3.9 million |
| January 21, 1983 | The Madison County Bank | Fredericktown, MO | $7.0 million | $730 thousand |
| December 10, 1982 | The Bollinger County Bank | Lutesville, MO | $15.9 million | $1.6 million |
| July 2, 1982 | The Belle-Bland Bank | Bland, MO | $4.3 million | $1.0 million |
| January 3, 1975 | Swope Parkway National Bank | Kansas City, MO | $7.6 million | not estimated |
| December 30, 1971 | First Community State Bank of Savannah | Savannah, MO | $3.7 million | not estimated |
| August 24, 1970 | First State Bank of Bonne Terre | Bonne Terre, MO | $8.0 million | not estimated |
| April 7, 1966 | Bank of Gray Summit | Gray Summit, MO | $1.9 million | not estimated |
| July 20, 1964 | Belleview Valley Bank | Belleview, MO | $1.3 million | not estimated |
| June 9, 1959 | Liberal State Bank | Liberal, MO | $1.0 million | not estimated |
| January 22, 1951 | Brazeau Bank | Brazeau, MO | $144 thousand | not estimated |
| November 18, 1942 | The Citizens Bank of Liberty | Liberty, MO | $258 thousand | not estimated |
| January 11, 1941 | Bank of Jamestown | Jamestown, MO | $186 thousand | not estimated |
| March 13, 1940 | Eugene State Bank | Eugene, MO | $128 thousand | not estimated |
| January 12, 1940 | The Citizens State Bank of Niangua | Niangua, MO | $143 thousand | not estimated |
| February 2, 1939 | The Farmers Bank of Newtown | Newtown, MO | $114 thousand | not estimated |
| November 5, 1938 | Bank of Bellflower | Bellflower, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| November 3, 1938 | Fayette Bank | Fayette, MO | $348 thousand | not estimated |
| August 18, 1938 | The Farmers & Merchants Bank | Madison, MO | $119 thousand | not estimated |
| February 17, 1938 | Farmers Bank of Blackburn | Blackburn, MO | $79 thousand | not estimated |
| February 10, 1938 | Bank of Strafford | Strafford, MO | $136 thousand | not estimated |
| February 1, 1938 | The First State Bank of Lathrop | Lathrop, MO | $163 thousand | not estimated |
| December 2, 1937 | Nevada Trust Company | Nevada, MO | $242 thousand | not estimated |
| November 1, 1937 | Bank of Alba | Alba, MO | $97 thousand | not estimated |
| September 14, 1937 | The Bank of Galena | Galena, MO | $93 thousand | not estimated |
| August 11, 1937 | The Bank of Noel | Noel, MO | $135 thousand | not estimated |
| August 5, 1937 | Kochan Banking Company | Maysville, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| July 24, 1937 | First Bank & Trust Company of Hamilton | Hamilton, MO | $698 thousand | not estimated |
| July 12, 1937 | Bank of Anutt | Anutt, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| July 3, 1937 | American Bank | Higginsville, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| June 18, 1937 | Hardin Trust Company | Hardin, MO | $259 thousand | not estimated |
| May 29, 1937 | Carroll Exchange Bank | Carrollton, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| May 1, 1937 | The Citizens Bank | Bucklin, MO | $157 thousand | not estimated |
| April 23, 1937 | Bank of Eureka | Eureka, MO | $70 thousand | not estimated |
| February 10, 1937 | Farmers Bank of Trenton | Trenton, MO | $335 thousand | not estimated |
| October 3, 1936 | Stover Bank | Stover, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| September 17, 1936 | Farmers State Bank | Tindall, MO | $70 thousand | not estimated |
| September 12, 1936 | The Wellsville Bank | Wellsville, MO | $325 thousand | not estimated |
| August 31, 1936 | Commercial Bank of Stanberry | Stanberry, MO | $173 thousand | not estimated |
| August 22, 1936 | Durham State Bank | Durham, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| August 14, 1936 | Bank of Magnolia | Magnolia, MO | $70 thousand | not estimated |
| July 11, 1936 | The State Bank of Sarcoxie | Sarcoxie, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| June 5, 1936 | Community Bank | Smithton, MO | $75 thousand | not estimated |
| June 5, 1936 | The Christian County Bank | Ozark, MO | $339 thousand | not estimated |
| May 23, 1936 | Koshkonong State Bank | Koshkonong, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| May 14, 1936 | Farmers Bank of New Truxton | New Truxton, MO | $71 thousand | not estimated |
| May 13, 1936 | Ford City State Bank | Ford City, MO | $62 thousand | not estimated |
| May 9, 1936 | Growers Exchange Bank | St. Joseph, MO | $53 thousand | not estimated |
| April 22, 1936 | Norborne Trust Company | Norborne, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| March 18, 1936 | Citizens Bank of Bosworth | Bosworth, MO | not reported | not estimated |
| March 5, 1936 | Farmers and Merchants Bank of Linn | Linn, MO | $228 thousand | not estimated |
| February 27, 1936 | Farmers Bank of Leonard | Leonard, MO | $69 thousand | not estimated |
| February 20, 1936 | The Bank of High Hill | High Hill, MO | $106 thousand | not estimated |
| February 5, 1936 | Peoples Bank | Cole Camp, MO | $186 thousand | not estimated |
| December 5, 1935 | Farmers Bank of Charlton County | Keytesville, MO | $287 thousand | not estimated |
| June 1, 1935 | Blue Springs State Bank | Blue Springs, MO | $235 thousand | not estimated |