39 failures since 1934 · $922 million estimated loss
Bank failures in Indiana
Indiana has 39 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 1.1% of the national total and the 26th-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1936, with 7. Since 2000 there have been 4; the most recent was Kentland Federal Savings and Loan Association on July 10, 2026. The largest by assets was Irwin Union Bank and Trust Company of Columbus, with $2.8 billion, in 2009.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 10, 2026 | Kentland Federal Savings and Loan Association | Kentland, IN | $3.8 million | $1.2 million |
| February 10, 2012 | SCB Bank | Shelbyville, IN | $183 million | $38.3 million |
| July 29, 2011 | Integra Bank National Association | Evansville, IN | $2.0 billion | $26.2 million |
| September 18, 2009 | Irwin Union Bank and Trust Company | Columbus, IN | $2.8 billion | $756 million |
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 18, 1992 | The Rushville National Bank | Rushville, IN | $41.6 million | $6.0 million |
| November 14, 1991 | Worthington State Bank | Worthington, IN | $36.6 million | $1.4 million |
| June 14, 1991 | First Commerce Bank, A FSB | Lowell, IN | $10.9 million | $1.4 million |
| June 8, 1990 | Hometown Federal Savings Bank | Delphi, IN | $64.7 million | $8.1 million |
| November 16, 1989 | First Savings and Loan Association of Central Indiana | Anderson, IN | $192 million | $15.1 million |
| July 13, 1989 | Pioneer Federal Savings and Loan Association | Plymouth, IN | $81.0 million | $1.2 million |
| October 3, 1988 | Liberty Bank and Trust Company | Warsaw, IN | $48.7 million | $7.8 million |
| April 29, 1988 | American Federal Savings and Loan Association | Anderson, IN | $146 million | $41.5 million |
| April 10, 1987 | The Citizens State Bank | Brownstown, IN | $29.0 million | $1.3 million |
| March 20, 1987 | Morocco State Bank | Morocco, IN | $16.3 million | $1.7 million |
| January 29, 1987 | The Farmers National Bank of Remington | Remington, IN | $34.7 million | $7.8 million |
| April 3, 1986 | Industrial National Bank of East Chicago | East Chicago, IN | $8.4 million | $1.2 million |
| November 22, 1985 | Allen County Bank and Trust Company | Leo, IN | $10.9 million | none |
| August 10, 1984 | Peoples State Bank of Clay County | Poland, IN | $17.7 million | $5.1 million |
| April 19, 1984 | The Shelby National Bank of Shelbyville | Shelbyville, IN | $67.8 million | $378 thousand |
| October 8, 1949 | Farmers & Merchants State Bank | Spencerville, IN | $354 thousand | not estimated |
| February 19, 1949 | The First National Bank of Dyer | Dyer, IN | $3.2 million | not estimated |
| May 12, 1944 | The Brownville State Bank | Brownsville, IN | $447 thousand | not estimated |
| June 22, 1940 | The Lucerne State Bank | Lucerne, IN | $195 thousand | not estimated |
| May 9, 1940 | Mackey State Bank | Mackey, IN | $40 thousand | not estimated |
| March 18, 1939 | The Fulton State Bank | Fulton, IN | $168 thousand | not estimated |
| February 16, 1939 | The St. Joseph Loan & Trust Company | South Bend, IN | not reported | not estimated |
| February 16, 1939 | St. Joseph County Savings Bank | South Bend, IN | not reported | not estimated |
| March 18, 1938 | The Borden State Bank | Borden, IN | $165 thousand | not estimated |
| November 4, 1937 | Commercial Bank & Trust Company | Union City, IN | $853 thousand | not estimated |
| July 20, 1937 | Michigan City Trust & Savings Bank | Michigan City, IN | not reported | not estimated |
| June 15, 1937 | The Romney Bank | Romney, IN | $64 thousand | not estimated |
| December 7, 1936 | The Union State Bank | Crothersville, IN | $248 thousand | not estimated |
| December 5, 1936 | Citizens State Bank | Palmyra, IN | $350 thousand | not estimated |
| December 5, 1936 | Scottsburg State Bank | Scottsburg, IN | $563 thousand | not estimated |
| August 14, 1936 | Cumberland Bank | Cumberland, IN | $87 thousand | not estimated |
| May 28, 1936 | Holton State Bank | Holton, IN | $204 thousand | not estimated |
| March 28, 1936 | The Earl Park State Bank | Earl Park, IN | $181 thousand | not estimated |
| February 18, 1936 | Columbia State Bank | Columbia City, IN | $906 thousand | not estimated |
| July 18, 1934 | Florence Deposit Bank | Florence, IN | $105 thousand | not estimated |