67 failures since 1934 · $3.4 billion estimated loss
Bank failures in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania has 67 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 1.9% of the national total and the 15th-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1942, with 9. Since 2000 there have been 12; the most recent was Tioga-Franklin Savings Bank on August 21, 2026. The largest by assets was Republic First Bank dba Republic Bank of Philadelphia, with $5.9 billion, in 2024.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 21, 2026 | Tioga-Franklin Savings Bank | Philadelphia, PA | $68.4 million | $5.5 million |
| April 26, 2024 | Republic First Bank dba Republic Bank | Philadelphia, PA | $5.9 billion | $710 million |
| May 6, 2016 | First CornerStone Bank | King of Prussia, PA | $103 million | $10.8 million |
| February 28, 2014 | Vantage Point Bank | Horsham, PA | $63.5 million | $9.0 million |
| October 26, 2012 | NOVA Bank | Berwyn, PA | $445 million | $85.4 million |
| January 20, 2012 | American Eagle Savings Bank | Boothwyn, PA | $19.3 million | $4.7 million |
| August 18, 2011 | Public Savings Bank | Huntingdon Valley, PA | $46.8 million | $15.8 million |
| December 10, 2010 | Earthstar Bank | Southampton, PA | $113 million | $22.5 million |
| November 19, 2010 | Allegiance Bank of North America | Bala Cynwyd, PA | $107 million | $12.7 million |
| August 14, 2009 | Dwelling House Savings and Loan Association | Pittsburgh, PA | $12.9 million | $8.4 million |
| February 2, 2007 | Metropolitan Savings Bank | Pittsburgh, PA | $15.8 million | $9.4 million |
| November 14, 2003 | Pulaski Savings Bank | Philadelphia, PA | $8.5 million | $679 thousand |
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 8, 1996 | Metrobank of Philadelphia National Association | Philadelphia, PA | $40.4 million | $7.7 million |
| December 11, 1992 | Meritor Savings Bank | Philadelphia, PA | $4.1 billion | none |
| June 19, 1992 | First Home Savings Association | Pittsburgh, PA | $132 million | $463 thousand |
| June 4, 1992 | Home Unity Savings and Loan Association | Lafayette Hill, PA | $685 million | $18.5 million |
| March 12, 1992 | Ukrainian Savings and Loan Association | Philadelphia, PA | $74.9 million | $8.9 million |
| February 28, 1992 | Alpha Indian Rock Savings and Loan Association | Philadelphia, PA | $7.2 million | $2.8 million |
| February 21, 1992 | The Bank of The Brandywine Valley | West Chester, PA | $44.9 million | $12.1 million |
| November 22, 1991 | Chase Savings and Loan Association | Philadelphia, PA | $46.9 million | $10.4 million |
| September 19, 1991 | Abraham Lincoln Federal Savings Bank | Dresher, PA | $189 million | $10.1 million |
| August 30, 1991 | Homestead Savings Association | Middletown, PA | $223 million | $17.5 million |
| June 14, 1991 | Springfield Federal Savings and Loan Association | Springfield, PA | $97.5 million | none |
| March 15, 1991 | Bell Savings Bank PaSa | Upper Darby, PA | $851 million | $197 million |
| March 1, 1991 | Peoples Federal Savings and Loan Association | New Kensington, PA | $108 million | $2.5 million |
| January 4, 1991 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Pittsburgh | Pittsburgh, PA | $3.1 billion | $96.0 million |
| July 6, 1990 | Heritage Savings Association | Lancaster, PA | $48.8 million | $1 thousand |
| April 5, 1990 | Colony Savings Bank, FSB | Monaca, PA | $427 million | $82.1 million |
| February 23, 1990 | Vanguard Federal Savings Bank | Vandergrief, PA | $177 million | $25.8 million |
| January 11, 1990 | Atlantic Financial Federal | Bala Cynwyd, PA | $5.3 billion | $947 million |
| June 8, 1989 | Horizon Financial, FA | Southampton, PA | $2.5 billion | $306 million |
| March 9, 1989 | Liberty Bell Savings Association | Beaver Falls, PA | $90.3 million | $8 thousand |
| March 9, 1989 | Concord-Liberty Savings and Loan Association | Monroeville, PA | $220 million | $19.4 million |
| March 9, 1989 | Hill Financial Savings and Loan Association | Red Hill, PA | $3.0 billion | $731 million |
| October 22, 1987 | New World National Bank | Pittsburgh, PA | $14.7 million | $2.1 million |
| October 19, 1976 | Centennial Bank | Philadelphia, PA | $13.7 million | not estimated |
| September 3, 1970 | City Bank of Philadelphia | Philadelphia, PA | $10.8 million | not estimated |
| February 19, 1962 | The First National Bank of Exeter | Exeter, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| February 13, 1953 | Mayfield State Bank | Mayfield, PA | $1.4 million | not estimated |
| August 25, 1951 | The Parnassus National Bank | New Kensington, PA | $2.9 million | not estimated |
| October 9, 1950 | First National Bank in Cecil | Cecil, PA | $638 thousand | not estimated |
| July 12, 1947 | The Central City National Bank | Central City, PA | $1.7 million | not estimated |
| May 27, 1944 | The First National Bank of Susquehanna | Susquehanna, PA | $1.7 million | not estimated |
| December 10, 1943 | First National Bk & Tr Co. of Easton | Easton, PA | $5.2 million | not estimated |
| November 28, 1942 | Guarantee Tr & Safe Dep. Co.-Mt.carmel | Mt. Carmel, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| October 17, 1942 | The Farmers National Bank of Selinsgrove | Selinsgrove, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| September 12, 1942 | Merchants Banking Trust Company | Mahanoy, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| August 1, 1942 | The First National Bank of Lehighton | Lehighton, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| August 1, 1942 | Citizens Nat Bk & Tr Co. of Lehighton | Lehighton, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| June 20, 1942 | The First Nat Bk & Tr Co. of Dallastown | Dallastown, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| April 25, 1942 | The Emmaus National Bank | Emmaus, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| March 14, 1942 | The First National Bank of Weatherly | Weatherly, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| January 17, 1942 | Providence Bank | Scranton, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| December 22, 1941 | The Lamberton National Bank of Franklin | Franklin, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| December 22, 1941 | The Franklin Trust Co. | Franklin, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| April 12, 1941 | The Keswick National Bank of Glenside | Glenside, PA | $1.3 million | not estimated |
| July 2, 1940 | Kane Trust and Savings Bank | Kane, PA | $915 thousand | not estimated |
| April 27, 1940 | The First National Bank of Bally | Bally, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| April 4, 1940 | Blairsville Savings and Trust Company | Blairsville, PA | $1.8 million | not estimated |
| January 13, 1940 | Integrity Trust Company | Philadelphia, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| February 4, 1939 | The Coudersport Trust Company | Coudersport, PA | $952 thousand | not estimated |
| December 17, 1938 | Boiling Springs State Bank | Boiling Springs, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| October 22, 1937 | The Nescopeck National Bank | Nescopeck, PA | $397 thousand | not estimated |
| June 5, 1937 | The First National Bank of Mahanoy City | Mahanoy City, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| November 16, 1935 | E. P. Wilbur Trust Company | Bethlehem, PA | not reported | not estimated |
| September 28, 1935 | The Commercial National Bank of Bradford | Bradford, PA | $5.2 million | not estimated |
| April 19, 1934 | Bank of America Trust Co. | Pittsburgh, PA | $1.4 million | not estimated |