26 failures since 1934 · $861 million estimated loss
Bank failures in North Carolina
North Carolina has 26 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 0.7% of the national total and the 38th-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1990, with 4. Since 2000 there have been 7; the most recent was Pisgah Community Bank on May 10, 2013. The largest by assets was Cooperative Bank of Wilmington, with $967 million, in 2009.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 10, 2013 | Pisgah Community Bank | Asheville, NC | $21.9 million | $7.9 million |
| April 26, 2013 | Parkway Bank | Lenoir, NC | $110 million | $16.5 million |
| June 8, 2012 | Waccamaw Bank | Whiteville, NC | $533 million | $23.8 million |
| October 14, 2011 | Blue Ridge Savings Bank, Inc. | Asheville, NC | $161 million | $44.1 million |
| January 21, 2011 | The Bank of Asheville | Asheville, NC | $205 million | $43.9 million |
| June 19, 2009 | Cooperative Bank | Wilmington, NC | $967 million | $287 million |
| April 10, 2009 | Cape Fear Bank | Wilmington, NC | $492 million | $119 million |
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 20, 1993 | Crown National Bank | Charlotte, NC | $26.3 million | $1.7 million |
| June 5, 1992 | First American Savings Bank, F.S.B. | Greensboro, NC | $804 million | $35.4 million |
| October 25, 1991 | First Hanover Bank | Wilmington, NC | $48.2 million | $5.7 million |
| July 9, 1991 | Surety Federal Savings and Loan Association, FSA | Morganton, NC | $225 million | $1.8 million |
| March 8, 1991 | Preferred Savings Bank, Inc. | High Point, NC | $224 million | $19.2 million |
| December 7, 1990 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association | Raleigh, NC | $520 million | $55.7 million |
| November 16, 1990 | Southeastern Savings Bank, Incorporated | Charlotte, NC | $422 million | $23.6 million |
| July 27, 1990 | Guaranty Federal Savings Bank | Fayetteville, NC | $53.9 million | $8.5 million |
| March 2, 1990 | North Carolina Federal Savings and Loan Association | Charlotte, NC | $628 million | $41.8 million |
| March 30, 1989 | Great Atlantic Savings Bank FSB | Manteo, NC | $127 million | $48.3 million |
| March 30, 1989 | Heritage Federal Savings and Loan Association | Monroe, NC | $312 million | $49.2 million |
| May 13, 1988 | Cardinal Savings Bank, Inc. | Newport, NC | $93.9 million | $27.5 million |
| July 24, 1950 | The Bank of Aurora | Aurora, NC | $1.3 million | not estimated |
| March 18, 1943 | Bank of Black Mountain | Black Moutain, NC | $855 thousand | not estimated |
| February 6, 1942 | Bank of Draper | Draper, NC | $129 thousand | not estimated |
| June 24, 1938 | The Bank of Ashe | Jefferson, NC | not reported | not estimated |
| April 9, 1938 | Bank of Ellenboro | Ellenboro, NC | not reported | not estimated |
| January 29, 1938 | The Bank of Fremont | Fremont, NC | not reported | not estimated |
| December 2, 1937 | Peoples United Bank | Southport, NC | not reported | not estimated |