73 failures since 1934 · $6.0 billion estimated loss
Bank failures in New York
New York has 73 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 2.1% of the national total and the 12th-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1990, with 12. Since 2000 there have been 6; the most recent was Signature Bank on March 12, 2023. The largest by assets was Signature Bank of New York, with $110 billion, in 2023.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 12, 2023 | Signature Bank | New York, NY | $110 billion | none |
| July 9, 2010 | USA Bank | Port Chester, NY | $191 million | $63.5 million |
| March 12, 2010 | The Park Avenue Bank | New York, NY | $520 million | $76.4 million |
| March 11, 2010 | LibertyPointe Bank | New York, NY | $216 million | $18.4 million |
| July 24, 2009 | Waterford Village Bank | Williamsville, NY | $55.7 million | $7.9 million |
| March 19, 2004 | Reliance Bank | White Plains, NY | $28.6 million | $919 thousand |
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 10, 1999 | Golden City Commercial Bank | New York, NY | $87.2 million | not estimated |
| May 5, 1995 | American Savings and Loan Association | New York, NY | $64.4 million | $6.0 million |
| February 26, 1993 | Jefferson National Bank | Watertown, NY | $256 million | $43.5 million |
| November 13, 1992 | First New York Bank for Business | New York, NY | $531 million | $165 million |
| August 28, 1992 | The Union Savings Bank | Patchogue, NY | $491 million | $134 million |
| June 12, 1992 | Riverhead Savings Bank | Riverhead, NY | $389 million | none |
| June 12, 1992 | Columbia Banking Federal Savings and Loan Association | Rochester, NY | $1.3 billion | $40.6 million |
| June 12, 1992 | American Savings Bank | White Plains, NY | $3.2 billion | $431 million |
| February 21, 1992 | Dollar Dry Dock Bank | White Plains, NY | $4.0 billion | $309 million |
| January 24, 1992 | American National Bank of New York | Fleischmanns, NY | $18.0 million | $3.6 million |
| January 24, 1992 | CrossLand Savings, FSB | Brooklyn, NY | $7.4 billion | $753 million |
| November 7, 1991 | Community National Bank and Trust Company of New York | New York, NY | $334 million | $95.9 million |
| September 27, 1991 | Eastern Federal Savings and Loan Association of Sayville | Sayville, NY | $250 million | $29.1 million |
| August 9, 1991 | Larchmont Federal Savings and Loan Association | Larchmont, NY | $124 million | $6 thousand |
| May 31, 1991 | Westerleigh Savings, A Federal Savings and Loan Association | Staten Island, NY | $148 million | $9.9 million |
| May 31, 1991 | Goldome | Buffalo, NY | $9.9 billion | $779 million |
| March 22, 1991 | State Savings, F.A. | Jackson Heights, NY | $445 million | $166 million |
| March 8, 1991 | Beacon Federal Savings Bank | Baldwin, NY | $406 million | $19.9 million |
| December 7, 1990 | Central Federal Savings FSB | Mineola, NY | $891 million | $248 million |
| November 30, 1990 | Edison Federal Savings and Loan Association | New York, NY | $140 million | $3.9 million |
| November 9, 1990 | Freedom National Bank of New York | New York, NY | $110 million | $12.3 million |
| September 21, 1990 | Yorkville Federal Savings and Loan Association | New York, NY | $345 million | $76.8 million |
| August 31, 1990 | Ensign Bank, FSB | New York, NY | $1.8 billion | $629 million |
| July 13, 1990 | The Permanent Savings Bank | Niagara Falls, NY | $330 million | none |
| July 6, 1990 | Capital National Bank | Bronx, NY | $158 million | $56.1 million |
| April 18, 1990 | The Seamen's Bank for Savings, FSB | New York, NY | $3.4 billion | $148 million |
| March 16, 1990 | Nassau Federal Savings and Loan Association | Brooklyn, NY | $297 million | $60.3 million |
| March 16, 1990 | Whitestone Savings, FA | Whitestone, NY | $397 million | $36.5 million |
| January 26, 1990 | Monroe Savings Bank, FSB | Rochester, NY | $521 million | $25.7 million |
| January 24, 1990 | Empire of America FSB | Buffalo, NY | $8.2 billion | $1.2 billion |
| December 20, 1989 | First City National Bank and Trust Company | New York, NY | $39.5 million | $10.8 million |
| November 30, 1989 | Salamanca Federal Savings and Loan Association | Salamanca, NY | $29.7 million | $1 thousand |
| July 28, 1989 | Empire State Bank | New York, NY | $30.2 million | $2.6 million |
| June 21, 1989 | Guardian Bank, N.A. | Hempstead, NY | $409 million | $204 million |
| March 11, 1988 | First Inter-County Bank of New York | New York, NY | $44.1 million | $8.0 million |
| September 11, 1987 | Central National Bank of New York | New York, NY | $181 million | $58.7 million |
| September 13, 1985 | Peoples National Bank of Rockland County | Ramapo, NY | $29.5 million | none |
| June 21, 1985 | Golden Pacific National Bank | New York, NY | $146 million | none |
| September 8, 1981 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Rochester | Rochester, NY | $1.2 billion | not estimated |
| September 15, 1976 | American Bank & Trust Company | New York, NY | $225 million | not estimated |
| October 8, 1974 | Franklin National Bank | New York, NY | $3.7 billion | not estimated |
| December 4, 1956 | The Home National of Ellenville | Ellenville, NY | $7.7 million | not estimated |
| September 25, 1943 | The Jefferson County Nat Bk -Watertown | Watertown, NY | $6.7 million | not estimated |
| March 28, 1942 | Floral Park Bank and Trust Company | Floral Park, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| March 7, 1942 | The Citizens National Bank of Freeport | Freeport, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| December 11, 1941 | Banco Di Napoli Trust Co. of New York | New York, NY | $13.8 million | not estimated |
| November 1, 1941 | The First National Bank of Forestville | Forestville, NY | $328 thousand | not estimated |
| September 29, 1941 | Bank of Au Sable Forks, N.y. | Au Sable Forks, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| April 26, 1941 | The First Nat Bk & Tr Co. of Port Chester | Port Chester, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| April 26, 1941 | Mutual Trust Co. of Westchester County | Port Chester, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| November 23, 1940 | The State Exchange Bank | Holley, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| September 14, 1940 | First Citizens Bank & Trust Co. of Utica | Utica, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| July 27, 1940 | Bank of Williamsville | Williamsville, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| July 20, 1940 | Mount Pleasant Bank & Trust Co. | Pleasantville, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| June 8, 1940 | The Southampton Bank | Southampton, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| April 20, 1940 | The Rye National Bank | Rye, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| April 20, 1940 | The First National Bank of Harrison | Harrison, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| April 6, 1940 | First Trust & Deposit Company | Syracuse, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| April 6, 1940 | Baldwinsville State Bank | Baldwinsville, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| February 24, 1940 | The National Bank of Westfield | Westfield, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| February 24, 1940 | Bank of Brocton | Brocton, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| December 4, 1939 | The Yonkers National Bank & Trust Co. | Yonkers, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| April 29, 1939 | Bank of Eden | Eden, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| November 26, 1938 | The First National Bank of Roosevelt | Roosevelt, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| September 24, 1938 | The Saranac Lake National Bank | Saranac Lake, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| December 20, 1937 | First Nat Bk & Tr Co. of Manhasset | Manhasset, NY | not reported | not estimated |
| August 14, 1937 | The Fort Greene National Bank in New York | Brooklyn, NY | $2.4 million | not estimated |