49 failures since 1934 · $662 million estimated loss
Bank failures in Wisconsin
Wisconsin has 49 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 1.4% of the national total and the 19th-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1938, with 7. Since 2000 there have been 11; the most recent was Guaranty Bank, (d/b/a BestBank in Georgia & Michigan) on May 5, 2017. The largest by assets was Guaranty Bank, (d/b/a BestBank in Georgia & Michigan) of Milwaukee, with $1.0 billion, in 2017.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 5, 2017 | Guaranty Bank, (d/b/a BestBank in Georgia & Michigan) | Milwaukee, WI | $1.0 billion | $132 million |
| March 11, 2016 | North Milwaukee State Bank | Milwaukee, WI | $67.1 million | $11.8 million |
| August 9, 2013 | Bank of Wausau | Wausau, WI | $43.6 million | $13.4 million |
| May 31, 2013 | Banks of Wisconsin d/b/a Bank of Kenosha | Kenosha, WI | $134 million | $22.5 million |
| March 11, 2011 | Legacy Bank | Milwaukee, WI | $190 million | $73.7 million |
| February 11, 2011 | Badger State Bank | Cassville, WI | $83.8 million | $19.5 million |
| January 28, 2011 | Evergreen State Bank | Stoughton, WI | $241 million | $28.1 million |
| November 19, 2010 | First Banking Center | Burlington, WI | $751 million | $86.1 million |
| September 17, 2010 | Maritime Savings Bank | West Allis, WI | $350 million | $88.4 million |
| October 23, 2009 | Bank of Elmwood | Racine, WI | $327 million | $99.5 million |
| May 9, 2003 | First National Bank of Blanchardville | Blanchardville, WI | $34.5 million | $12.8 million |
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 12, 1991 | Monycor Savings Bank, FSB | Barron, WI | $152 million | $1.9 million |
| March 30, 1989 | Durand Federal Savings and Loan Association | Durand, WI | $107 million | $41.8 million |
| February 17, 1989 | Community Savings and Loan Association | Fond Du Lac, WI | $185 million | $27.2 million |
| June 20, 1986 | The American Bank | Alma, WI | $40.0 million | $3.3 million |
| June 14, 1985 | Strong's Bank | Dodgeville, WI | $30.7 million | $2 thousand |
| October 21, 1975 | American City Bank & Trust Company, National Association | Milwaukee, WI | $148 million | not estimated |
| May 30, 1975 | Algoma Bank | Algoma, WI | $5.2 million | not estimated |
| December 6, 1947 | Lyons State Bank | Lyons, WI | $874 thousand | not estimated |
| October 2, 1942 | Farmers Bank | Lone Rock, WI | $580 thousand | not estimated |
| July 6, 1942 | Farmer's and Merchant's Bank | Cochrane, WI | $395 thousand | not estimated |
| November 29, 1941 | The First National Bank of Dodgeville | Dodgeville, WI | $941 thousand | not estimated |
| October 25, 1940 | Bank of Eagle | Eagle, WI | $457 thousand | not estimated |
| July 13, 1940 | Chaseburg State Bank | Chaseburg, WI | not reported | not estimated |
| June 25, 1940 | Waushara County Bank | Plainfield, WI | not reported | not estimated |
| September 15, 1939 | The Farmers State Bank | Cato, WI | $97 thousand | not estimated |
| May 29, 1939 | Bank of Hartland | Hartland, WI | $455 thousand | not estimated |
| March 18, 1939 | Eden State Bank | Eden, WI | not reported | not estimated |
| March 8, 1939 | State Bank of Forestville | Forestville, WI | $342 thousand | not estimated |
| January 12, 1939 | Bank of Hancock | Hancock, WI | not reported | not estimated |
| January 4, 1939 | Oconto County State Bank | Oconto Falls, WI | $386 thousand | not estimated |
| December 31, 1938 | Farmers State Bank | Canton, WI | $51 thousand | not estimated |
| December 14, 1938 | Coleman State Bank | Coleman, WI | not reported | not estimated |
| August 15, 1938 | State Bank of Rice Lake | Rice Lake, WI | $946 thousand | not estimated |
| June 3, 1938 | Leopolis State Bank | Leopolis, WI | $205 thousand | not estimated |
| May 14, 1938 | Sussex State Bank | Sussex, WI | not reported | not estimated |
| April 20, 1938 | Caroline State Bank | Caroline, WI | $168 thousand | not estimated |
| January 22, 1938 | The Woodman State Bank | Woodman, WI | not reported | not estimated |
| December 17, 1937 | Big Falls State Bank | Big Falls, WI | $103 thousand | not estimated |
| November 27, 1937 | Loganville State Bank | Loganville, WI | not reported | not estimated |
| August 21, 1937 | Farmers and Merchants Bank | Brillion, WI | not reported | not estimated |
| June 14, 1937 | Coloma State Bank | Coloma, WI | $94 thousand | not estimated |
| December 1, 1936 | Bank of Cambria | Cambria, WI | not reported | not estimated |
| December 7, 1935 | Friendship State Bank | Friendship, WI | $147 thousand | not estimated |
| November 27, 1935 | Bank of Linden | Linden, WI | $224 thousand | not estimated |
| June 24, 1935 | State Bank of Suamico | Suamico, WI | $161 thousand | not estimated |
| June 4, 1935 | Anchor State Bank | West Milwaukee, WI | $891 thousand | not estimated |
| November 16, 1934 | The State Bank | Sauk City, WI | $195 thousand | not estimated |
| October 11, 1934 | Farmers & Traders Bank | Porterfield, WI | $46 thousand | not estimated |