98 failures since 1934 · $3.5 billion estimated loss
Bank failures in New Jersey
New Jersey has 98 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 2.8% of the national total and the tenth-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1939, with 19. Since 2000 there have been 8; the most recent was City National Bank of New Jersey on November 1, 2019. The largest by assets was City Federal Savings Bank of Somerset, with $9.8 billion, in 1989.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| November 1, 2019 | City National Bank of New Jersey | Newark, NJ | $121 million | $1.2 million |
| January 13, 2017 | Harvest Community Bank | Pennsville, NJ | $124 million | $22.2 million |
| April 20, 2012 | Fort Lee Federal Savings Bank, FSB | Fort Lee, NJ | $48.9 million | $11.9 million |
| October 14, 2011 | First State Bank | Cranford, NJ | $192 million | $45.6 million |
| September 17, 2010 | ISN Bank | Cherry Hill, NJ | $81.6 million | $18.9 million |
| July 31, 2009 | First BankAmericano | Elizabeth, NJ | $163 million | $20.0 million |
| May 1, 2009 | Citizens Community Bank | Ridgewood, NJ | $40.7 million | $18.2 million |
| February 14, 2004 | Dollar Savings Bank | Newark, NJ | $13.4 million | none |
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 4, 1992 | Security Savings Bank, SLA | Vineland, NJ | $1.2 billion | $41.4 million |
| December 4, 1992 | Carteret Savings Bank, FA | Madison, NJ | $4.8 billion | $24.0 million |
| November 20, 1992 | Polifly Savings and Loan Association | New Milford, NJ | $458 million | $35.1 million |
| October 2, 1992 | The Howard Savings Bank | Newark, NJ | $3.5 billion | $68.0 million |
| September 25, 1992 | Highlands Community Bank, National Association | Clinton Township, NJ | $19.7 million | $2.5 million |
| September 25, 1992 | Hometown Bank | Edison, NJ | $25.2 million | $7.3 million |
| June 5, 1992 | Volunteer Savings Bank SLA | Little Ferry, NJ | $51.2 million | $5.2 million |
| May 22, 1992 | Powder Mill Bank | Morris Plains, NJ | $49.6 million | $6.9 million |
| March 13, 1992 | Broadway Bank & Trust Company | Paterson, NJ | $401 million | $76.2 million |
| January 10, 1992 | Hansen Savings Bank, SLA | Hammonton, NJ | $572 million | $42.4 million |
| November 22, 1991 | White Horse Savings and Loan Association | Trenton, NJ | $72.5 million | $16.8 million |
| November 1, 1991 | Marine View Savings Bank, SLA | Middletown, NJ | $119 million | $3.8 million |
| September 27, 1991 | Nutley Savings Bank, SLA | Nutley, NJ | $189 million | $17.9 million |
| September 20, 1991 | Mid-Jersey National Bank | Somerville, NJ | $29.5 million | $6.0 million |
| July 26, 1991 | Suburban National Bank | Hillsborough Twns, NJ | $91.1 million | $27.8 million |
| July 19, 1991 | Community Guardian Bank | Elmwood Park, NJ | $55.3 million | $16.0 million |
| June 28, 1991 | Metrobank for Savings FSB | Palisades Park, NJ | $474 million | $146 million |
| May 22, 1991 | The First National Bank of Toms River, N.J. | Toms River, NJ | $1.4 billion | $116 million |
| May 3, 1991 | Newton Savings Bank, SLA | Fairfield, NJ | $40.9 million | $3.6 million |
| April 19, 1991 | Prospect Park Savings Bank, SLA | West Paterson, NJ | $512 million | $94.8 million |
| March 8, 1991 | Alexander Hamilton Savings and Loan Association of Paterson | Paterson, NJ | $211 million | $4.0 million |
| March 1, 1991 | Amerifederal Savings Bank | Lawrenceville, NJ | $111 million | $17.6 million |
| February 8, 1991 | First Jersey Savings and Loan Association | Wyckoff, NJ | $288 million | $37.8 million |
| January 25, 1991 | Center Savings and Loan Association | Clifton, NJ | $133 million | $15.3 million |
| January 18, 1991 | Irving Savings and Loan Association | Paterson, NJ | $222 million | $25.7 million |
| January 4, 1991 | Trident Federal Savings and Loan Association | Newark, NJ | $47.2 million | $7.5 million |
| December 14, 1990 | Old Borough Savings and Loan Association | Trenton, NJ | $134 million | $6 thousand |
| December 14, 1990 | Empire Savings Bank, SLA | Hammonton, NJ | $219 million | $28.3 million |
| November 15, 1990 | Action Savings Bank, SLA | Sommers Point, NJ | $262 million | $81.7 million |
| November 2, 1990 | Riverside Savings Bank, S.L.A. | Riverside, NJ | $178 million | $57.2 million |
| October 5, 1990 | Mountain Ridge State Bank | West Orange, NJ | $51.4 million | $12.8 million |
| September 21, 1990 | Mercer Savings Bank SLA | Trenton, NJ | $92.7 million | $18.6 million |
| July 20, 1990 | Mainstay Federal Savings Bank | Red Bank, NJ | $226 million | $52.5 million |
| June 29, 1990 | The Montgomery National Bank | Montgomery Twnsp, NJ | $92.6 million | none |
| June 15, 1990 | The United Savings and Loan Association of Trenton New Jersey | Trenton, NJ | $278 million | $33.8 million |
| May 15, 1990 | United Savings Bank, SLA | Paterson, NJ | $246 million | $21.1 million |
| May 4, 1990 | Mutual Aid Savings and Loan Association | Manasquan, NJ | $103 million | $17.9 million |
| March 9, 1990 | Yorkwood Savings and Loan Association | Maplewood, NJ | $205 million | $53.2 million |
| March 9, 1990 | Nassau Savings and Loan Association | Princeton, NJ | $313 million | $51.9 million |
| February 23, 1990 | First Atlantic Savings and Loan Association | Plainfield, NJ | $1.3 billion | $234 million |
| December 8, 1989 | City Federal Savings Bank | Somerset, NJ | $9.8 billion | $1.6 billion |
| November 9, 1989 | Colonial Savings Bank, SLA | Roselle Park, NJ | $427 million | $103 million |
| April 27, 1989 | Metropolitan Federal Savings and Loan Association | Denville, NJ | $168 million | $16 thousand |
| February 17, 1989 | Elysian Federal Savings Bank | Hoboken, NJ | $199 million | $30.9 million |
| February 17, 1989 | North Jersey Savings and Loan Association | Passaic, NJ | $278 million | $132 million |
| November 13, 1987 | Tri-County Savings and Loan Association | Camden, NJ | $36.5 million | $18.9 million |
| March 18, 1983 | Pan American National Bank | Union City, NJ | $37.2 million | $5.0 million |
| October 12, 1979 | Livingston State Bank | Livingston, NJ | $12.7 million | not estimated |
| June 14, 1976 | First State Bank of Hudson County | Jersey City, NJ | $14.1 million | not estimated |
| January 10, 1976 | The Bank of Bloomfield | Bloomfield, NJ | $31.7 million | not estimated |
| August 7, 1970 | Eatontown National Bank | Eatontown, NJ | $21.4 million | not estimated |
| July 17, 1958 | The Manufacturers' Bank of Edgewater | Edgewater, NJ | $2.4 million | not estimated |
| July 24, 1948 | Columbus Trust Company | Newark, NJ | $7.9 million | not estimated |
| February 28, 1942 | The Haddonfield National Bank | Haddonfield, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| June 22, 1940 | The Westfield Trust Company | Westfield, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| June 22, 1940 | First State Bank of Scotch Plains | Scotch Plains, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| March 16, 1940 | The Swedesboro National Bank | Swedesboro, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| February 3, 1940 | Woodcliff Trust Company | North Bergen, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| February 1, 1940 | Bankers Trust Company | Atlantic City, NJ | $2.1 million | not estimated |
| December 27, 1939 | The Tuckerton Bank | Tuckerton, NJ | $735 thousand | not estimated |
| October 7, 1939 | The Egg Harbor Commercial Bank | Egg Harbor City, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| June 30, 1939 | West Hudson County Trust Company | Harrison, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| June 30, 1939 | Kearny National Bank | Kearny, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| June 30, 1939 | Pleasantville Trust Company | Pleasantville, NJ | $1.1 million | not estimated |
| June 17, 1939 | The Hamilton Trust Company of Paterson | Paterson, NJ | $3.7 million | not estimated |
| June 3, 1939 | Merchants Trust Company | Union City, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| June 3, 1939 | Gloucester City Trust Company | Gloucester City, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| June 3, 1939 | Commonwealth Trust Company | Union City, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| April 29, 1939 | Hudson Trust Company | Union City, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| April 29, 1939 | Columbia Trust Company of New Jersey | Hoboken, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| April 20, 1939 | West Bergen Trust Company | Jersey City, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| April 20, 1939 | The Trust Company of New Jersey | Jersey City, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| April 8, 1939 | The First National Bank of Plainfield | Plainfield, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| March 11, 1939 | Rahway Trust Company | Rahway, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| February 18, 1939 | The First Nat'l Bank & Tr Co. of Blackwood | Blackwood, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| February 11, 1939 | North Camden Trust Company | Camden, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| February 11, 1939 | The New Jersey Title Guarantee & Trust Co. | Jersey City, NJ | $30.7 million | not estimated |
| February 4, 1939 | The American National Bank of Camden | Camden, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| April 11, 1938 | West Jersey Trust Company | Camden, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| April 11, 1938 | Camden Safe Deposit & Trust Company | Camden, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| April 2, 1938 | Margate Trust Company | Margate City, NJ | $702 thousand | not estimated |
| October 22, 1937 | The Little Ferry National Bank | Little Ferry, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| October 2, 1937 | The First National Bank of Perth Amboy | Perth Amboy, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| October 2, 1937 | The Raritan Trust Company | Perth Amboy, NJ | $707 thousand | not estimated |
| October 2, 1937 | Perth Amboy Trust Company | Perth Amboy, NJ | $2.9 million | not estimated |
| September 30, 1937 | Westwood Trust Company | Westwood, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| July 15, 1936 | D'auria Bank & Trust Company | Newark, NJ | $1.2 million | not estimated |
| June 29, 1936 | Central Bank and Trust Company | Newark, NJ | not reported | not estimated |
| December 14, 1935 | Livingston State Bank | Livingston, NJ | $91 thousand | not estimated |
| January 3, 1935 | Cliffside Park Title Guarantee & Trust Co. | Grantwood, NJ | $2.3 million | not estimated |