32 failures since 1934 · $1.9 billion estimated loss
Bank failures in Maryland
Maryland has 32 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 0.9% of the national total and the 32nd-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1991, with 5. Since 2000 there have been 10; the most recent was NBRS Financial on October 17, 2014. The largest by assets was Standard Federal Savings Bank of Gaithersburg, with $1.7 billion, in 1992.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| October 17, 2014 | NBRS Financial | Rising Sun, MD | $155 million | $19.8 million |
| May 30, 2014 | Slavie Federal Savings Bank | Bel Air, MD | $140 million | $11.0 million |
| April 27, 2012 | Bank of the Eastern Shore | Cambridge, MD | $162 million | $57.9 million |
| April 27, 2012 | HarVest Bank of Maryland | Gaithersburg, MD | $163 million | $26.7 million |
| November 5, 2010 | K Bank | Randallstown, MD | $538 million | $136 million |
| July 9, 2010 | Ideal Federal Savings Bank | Baltimore, MD | $6.2 million | $3.7 million |
| July 9, 2010 | Bay National Bank | Baltimore, MD | $218 million | $21.1 million |
| March 5, 2010 | Waterfield Bank | Germantown, MD | $156 million | $11.3 million |
| August 28, 2009 | Bradford Bank | Baltimore, MD | $452 million | $46.9 million |
| January 30, 2009 | Suburban Federal Savings Bank | Crofton, MD | $347 million | $73.8 million |
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 4, 1992 | Second National Federal Savings Bank | Salisbury, MD | $1.6 billion | $78.0 million |
| October 21, 1992 | Standard Federal Savings Bank | Gaithersburg, MD | $1.7 billion | $528 million |
| October 16, 1992 | Universal Bank | Lanham, MD | $18.0 million | $6.0 million |
| August 28, 1992 | Potomac Savings Bank FSB | Silver Spring, MD | $72.3 million | $32.0 million |
| February 28, 1992 | Irvington Federal Savings and Loan Association | Glen Burnie, MD | $43.8 million | $5.1 million |
| May 10, 1991 | The Washington Bank (of Maryland) | Baltimore, MD | $39.0 million | $968 thousand |
| April 26, 1991 | Augusta Federal Savings Bank | Baltimore, MD | $151 million | $5.6 million |
| April 26, 1991 | John Hanson Savings Bank, FSB | Beltsville, MD | $841 million | $148 million |
| March 22, 1991 | Republic Federal Savings Bank | Rockville, MD | $26.4 million | $8.4 million |
| January 4, 1991 | Royal Oak Federal Savings and Loan Association | Randallstown, MD | $27.3 million | $2 thousand |
| June 1, 1990 | First Annapolis Savings Bank, FSB | Annapolis, MD | $720 million | $177 million |
| February 9, 1990 | Liberty Federal Savings Bank | Randallstown, MD | $49.5 million | $15.3 million |
| February 9, 1990 | Vermont Federal Savings and Loan Association | Timonium, MD | $335 million | $41.9 million |
| December 14, 1989 | Yorkridge-Calvert Savings and Loan Association | Baltimore, MD | $586 million | $40.1 million |
| March 2, 1989 | Gibraltar Federal Savings Bank, FSB | Annapolis, MD | $71.8 million | $7.5 million |
| February 7, 1989 | Baltimore Federal Financial, FSA | Baltimore, MD | $1.6 billion | $358 million |
| March 20, 1987 | First Federal of Maryland, FSA | Hagerstown, MD | $95.7 million | $77.9 million |
| October 4, 1940 | Savings Bank of Nanticoke | Nanticoke, MD | $190 thousand | not estimated |
| January 21, 1939 | The Hillsboro-Queen Anne Bank, Inc. | Hillsboro, MD | not reported | not estimated |
| December 31, 1938 | The Harford Bank | Bel Air, MD | $893 thousand | not estimated |
| July 23, 1938 | Takoma Park Bank | Takoma Park, MD | not reported | not estimated |
| July 1, 1938 | Commercial Bank of Maryland | Frederick, MD | not reported | not estimated |