67 failures since 1934 · $530 million estimated loss
Bank failures in Iowa
Iowa has 67 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 1.9% of the national total and the 16th-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1985, with 11. Since 2000 there have been 4; the most recent was Citizens Bank on November 3, 2023. The largest by assets was American Federal Savings and Loan Association of Iowa of Des Moines, with $911 million, in 1990.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| November 3, 2023 | Citizens Bank | Sac City, IA | $60.4 million | $12.5 million |
| November 18, 2011 | Polk County Bank | Johnston, IA | $91.6 million | $16.1 million |
| September 4, 2009 | Vantus Bank | Sioux City, IA | $504 million | $102 million |
| January 14, 2000 | Hartford-Carlisle Savings Bank | Carlisle, IA | $105 million | $11.6 million |
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 29, 1993 | Valley National Bank of Fremont County | Hamburg, IA | $7.0 million | $165 thousand |
| November 22, 1991 | Peoples Federal Savings Bank | Ottumwa, IA | $34.3 million | $735 thousand |
| September 27, 1991 | Home Federal Savings and Loan Association of Harlan | Harlan, IA | $91.4 million | $35 thousand |
| May 10, 1991 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Creston | Creston, IA | $67.3 million | $1.8 million |
| April 26, 1991 | Home Federal Savings and Loan Association | Algona, IA | $134 million | $4 thousand |
| March 22, 1991 | United Federal Savings Bank of Iowa | Des Moines, IA | $896 million | $50.2 million |
| July 27, 1990 | Statesman Bank for Savings, FSB | Des Moines, IA | $540 million | $20.4 million |
| March 16, 1990 | Sun Savings Bank | Fort Dodge, IA | $24.3 million | $1.8 million |
| February 9, 1990 | American Federal Savings and Loan Association of Iowa | Des Moines, IA | $911 million | $23.5 million |
| January 4, 1990 | Firstcentral Bank, A Federal Savings Bank | Chariton, IA | $113 million | $372 thousand |
| October 16, 1989 | Banc Iowa Savings Bank | Cedar Rapids, IA | $162 million | $21.9 million |
| April 6, 1989 | 1ST Federal Savings and Loan Association of Estherville and Emmetsburg | Estherville, IA | $60.6 million | $9.7 million |
| April 6, 1989 | Sioux Valley Savings and Loan Association | Cherokee, IA | $61.8 million | $41.9 million |
| September 1, 1988 | Pisgah Savings Bank | Pisgah, IA | $9.7 million | $3.0 million |
| September 1, 1988 | Mingo Trust and Savings Bank | Mingo, IA | $12.1 million | $775 thousand |
| June 2, 1988 | Community State Bank | Whiting, IA | $5.1 million | $923 thousand |
| May 6, 1988 | Forest City Bank & Trust Company | Forest City, IA | $26.6 million | $733 thousand |
| March 10, 1988 | Hayesville Savings Bank | Hayesville, IA | $38.0 million | $2.0 million |
| January 20, 1988 | Aredale State Bank | Aredale, IA | $9.6 million | $313 thousand |
| December 3, 1987 | Climbing Hill Savings Bank | Climbing Hill, IA | $5.4 million | $646 thousand |
| July 30, 1987 | Farmers State Bank | Kanawha, IA | $15.9 million | $2.4 million |
| April 23, 1987 | Osceola State Bank & Trust Co. | Osceola, IA | $8.6 million | $1.6 million |
| March 4, 1987 | The First State Bank | Rockford, IA | $15.8 million | $1.4 million |
| February 5, 1987 | State Bank of Allison | Allison, IA | $17.4 million | $1.5 million |
| January 15, 1987 | Latimer Bank & Trust | Latimer, IA | $23.2 million | $3.2 million |
| August 7, 1986 | Graettinger State Bank | Graettinger, IA | $11.8 million | $711 thousand |
| July 31, 1986 | Citizens State Bank | Iowa Falls, IA | $54.0 million | $4.8 million |
| July 24, 1986 | The First National Bank of Prairie City | Prairie City, IA | $18.9 million | $1.8 million |
| June 27, 1986 | Commercial State Bank | Pocahontas, IA | $47.9 million | $9.9 million |
| May 29, 1986 | The Lone Rock Bank, National Association | Lone Rock, IA | $7.5 million | $2.2 million |
| May 1, 1986 | The Bedford National Bank | Bedford, IA | $19.3 million | $4.6 million |
| April 10, 1986 | The National Bank | Dyersville, IA | $43.0 million | $11.2 million |
| March 20, 1986 | Williams Savings Bank | Williams, IA | $12.8 million | $359 thousand |
| February 21, 1986 | Capitol Savings and Loan Association, A Federal Savings and Loan Associa | Mount Pleasant, IA | $192 million | $99.0 million |
| February 14, 1986 | First National Bank of Tipton | Tipton, IA | $17.9 million | $665 thousand |
| February 6, 1986 | The Peoples National Bank and Trust Company | Albia, IA | $52.0 million | $13.4 million |
| November 8, 1985 | Auburn Savings Bank | Auburn, IA | $6.8 million | $714 thousand |
| November 1, 1985 | Early Savings Bank | Early, IA | $12.9 million | $1.2 million |
| August 6, 1985 | Mineola State Bank | Mineola, IA | $5.2 million | $213 thousand |
| June 21, 1985 | Urbana Savings Bank | Urbana, IA | $7.2 million | $810 thousand |
| May 9, 1985 | Story County State Bank | Story City, IA | $33.6 million | $6.6 million |
| May 3, 1985 | Farmers Savings Bank | Massena, IA | $16.9 million | $6.4 million |
| April 26, 1985 | Peoples State Bank | Odebolt, IA | $13.5 million | $2.3 million |
| March 8, 1985 | Commercial State Bank | Afton, IA | $16.3 million | $3.0 million |
| February 19, 1985 | Inwood State Bank | Inwood, IA | $8.1 million | $1.3 million |
| February 7, 1985 | The First National Bank Woodbine | Woodbine, IA | $25.8 million | $7.3 million |
| January 25, 1985 | The Steele State Bank | Cherokee, IA | $21.9 million | $3.3 million |
| September 7, 1984 | Oakland Savings Bank | Oakland, IA | $22.1 million | $6.6 million |
| August 10, 1984 | The Tingley State Savings Bank | Mount Ayr, IA | $19.4 million | $6.3 million |
| June 21, 1984 | The Farmers National Bank of Aurelia | Aurelia, IA | $19.9 million | $2.0 million |
| August 6, 1982 | Mt. Pleasant Bank and Trust Company | Mount Pleasant, IA | $29.4 million | none |
| April 2, 1982 | The First National Bank in Humboldt | Humboldt, IA | $55.4 million | none |
| August 26, 1977 | Donahue Savings Bank | Donahue, IA | $5.5 million | not estimated |
| October 9, 1974 | Cromwell State Savings Bank | Cromwell, IA | $3.5 million | not estimated |
| October 5, 1973 | First National Bank of Eldora | Eldora, IA | $8.1 million | not estimated |
| February 22, 1970 | State Bank of Prairie City | Prairie City, IA | $4.1 million | not estimated |
| January 16, 1961 | The Sheldon National Bank | Sheldon, IA | $4.4 million | not estimated |
| August 24, 1940 | Mt. Union State Bank | Mt. Union, IA | not reported | not estimated |
| June 17, 1938 | Russell State Bank & Trust Company | Russell, IA | $217 thousand | not estimated |
| May 19, 1938 | Farmers Savings Bank | Ankeny, IA | $186 thousand | not estimated |
| March 5, 1938 | Home Savings Bank | Des Moines, IA | not reported | not estimated |
| October 20, 1937 | The First National Bank in Burlington | Burlington, IA | not reported | not estimated |
| March 31, 1936 | Leland Cooperative Bank | Leland, IA | $150 thousand | not estimated |