185 failures since 1934 · $6.2 billion estimated loss
Bank failures in Illinois
Illinois has 185 bank failures on FDIC record since 1934, 5.2% of the national total and the third-highest count of any state or territory. The worst year was 1989, with 23. Since 2000 there have been 71; the most recent was Metropolitan Capital Bank & Trust on January 30, 2026. The largest by assets was Corus Bank, N.A. of Chicago, with $7.0 billion, in 2009.
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 30, 2026 | Metropolitan Capital Bank & Trust | Chicago, IL | $261 million | $19.6 million |
| January 17, 2025 | Pulaski Savings Bank | Chicago, IL | $49.5 million | $31.9 million |
| December 15, 2017 | Washington Federal Bank for Savings | Chicago, IL | $166 million | $75.0 million |
| May 26, 2017 | Fayette County Bank | Saint Elmo, IL | $34.4 million | $8.1 million |
| January 27, 2017 | Seaway Bank and Trust Company | Chicago, IL | $298 million | $43.7 million |
| May 8, 2015 | Edgebrook Bank | Chicago, IL | $90.0 million | $20.6 million |
| January 23, 2015 | Highland Community Bank | Chicago, IL | $54.7 million | $4.7 million |
| October 24, 2014 | The National Republic Bank of Chicago | Chicago, IL | $843 million | $54.4 million |
| July 25, 2014 | GreenChoice Bank, fsb | Chicago, IL | $70.3 million | $18.4 million |
| June 20, 2014 | Valley Bank | Moline, IL | $456 million | $47.8 million |
| May 16, 2014 | AztecAmerica Bank | Berwyn, IL | $66.3 million | $21.7 million |
| January 17, 2014 | DuPage National Bank | West Chicago, IL | $53.5 million | $1.5 million |
| February 15, 2013 | Covenant Bank | Chicago, IL | $58.4 million | $19.6 million |
| November 2, 2012 | Citizens First National Bank | Princeton, IL | $924 million | $32.5 million |
| September 28, 2012 | First United Bank | Crete, IL | $328 million | $33.8 million |
| August 3, 2012 | Waukegan Savings Bank | Waukegan, IL | $83.7 million | $23.5 million |
| July 20, 2012 | Second Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago | Chicago, IL | $191 million | $86.3 million |
| June 8, 2012 | Farmers' and Traders' State Bank | Shabbona, IL | $43.1 million | $10.2 million |
| March 23, 2012 | Premier Bank | Wilmette, IL | $269 million | $69.3 million |
| March 9, 2012 | New City Bank | Chicago, IL | $71.2 million | $13.2 million |
| February 10, 2012 | Charter National Bank and Trust | Hoffman Estates, IL | $93.9 million | $18.5 million |
| October 28, 2011 | All American Bank | Des Plaines, IL | $34.8 million | $13.8 million |
| October 14, 2011 | Country Bank | Aledo, IL | $195 million | $69.3 million |
| August 19, 2011 | First Choice Bank | Geneva, IL | $141 million | $34.1 million |
| August 5, 2011 | Bank of Shorewood | Shorewood, IL | $111 million | $29.4 million |
| July 8, 2011 | First Chicago Bank & Trust | Chicago, IL | $897 million | $193 million |
| April 8, 2011 | Western Springs National Bank and Trust | Western Springs, IL | $187 million | $38.0 million |
| March 25, 2011 | The Bank of Commerce | Wood Dale, IL | $163 million | $44.1 million |
| February 25, 2011 | Valley Community Bank | St. Charles, IL | $124 million | $28.3 million |
| February 4, 2011 | Community First Bank - Chicago | Chicago, IL | $51.1 million | $10.2 million |
| October 22, 2010 | First Suburban National Bank | Maywood, IL | $143 million | $44.3 million |
| August 20, 2010 | ShoreBank | Chicago, IL | $2.2 billion | $526 million |
| August 13, 2010 | Palos Bank and Trust Company | Palos Heights, IL | $493 million | $67.0 million |
| August 6, 2010 | Ravenswood Bank | Chicago, IL | $265 million | $67.7 million |
| June 4, 2010 | Arcola Homestead Savings Bank | Arcola, IL | $17.0 million | $11.5 million |
| May 14, 2010 | Midwest Bank and Trust Company | Elmwood Park, IL | $3.2 billion | none |
| April 23, 2010 | Citizens Bank and Trust Company of Chicago | Chicago, IL | $73.5 million | $41.3 million |
| April 23, 2010 | Peotone Bank and Trust Company | Peotone, IL | $130 million | $45.6 million |
| April 23, 2010 | Lincoln Park Savings Bank | Chicago, IL | $195 million | $37.9 million |
| April 23, 2010 | Wheatland Bank | Naperville, IL | $442 million | $190 million |
| April 23, 2010 | New Century Bank | Chicago, IL | $447 million | $132 million |
| April 23, 2010 | Broadway Bank | Chicago, IL | $1.1 billion | $377 million |
| April 23, 2010 | Amcore Bank, National Association | Rockford, IL | $3.1 billion | $10.8 million |
| March 5, 2010 | Bank of Illinois | Normal, IL | $212 million | $18.7 million |
| February 19, 2010 | George Washington Savings Bank | Orland Park, IL | $414 million | $119 million |
| January 15, 2010 | Town Community Bank and Trust | Antioch, IL | $70.8 million | $23.3 million |
| December 18, 2009 | Independent Bankers' Bank | Springfield, IL | $586 million | none |
| December 4, 2009 | Benchmark Bank | Aurora, IL | $173 million | $79.3 million |
| October 30, 2009 | Community Bank of Lemont | Lemont, IL | $81.8 million | $25.9 million |
| October 30, 2009 | Park National Bank | Chicago, IL | $4.7 billion | $2.8 million |
| October 23, 2009 | First DuPage Bank | Westmont, IL | $262 million | $85.3 million |
| September 11, 2009 | Corus Bank, N.A. | Chicago, IL | $7.0 billion | none |
| September 4, 2009 | Platinum Community Bank | Rolling Meadows, IL | $148 million | none |
| September 4, 2009 | InBank | Oak Forest, IL | $210 million | $56.9 million |
| July 31, 2009 | Mutual Bank | Harvey, IL | $1.6 billion | $794 million |
| July 2, 2009 | First State Bank of Winchester | Winchester, IL | $30.1 million | $8.0 million |
| July 2, 2009 | The Elizabeth State Bank | Elizabeth, IL | $55.0 million | $9.8 million |
| July 2, 2009 | The John Warner Bank | Clinton, IL | $69.6 million | $14.3 million |
| July 2, 2009 | Rock River Bank | Oregon, IL | $74.8 million | $18.6 million |
| July 2, 2009 | First National Bank of Danville | Danville, IL | $148 million | $24.2 million |
| July 2, 2009 | Founders Bank | Worth, IL | $889 million | $130 million |
| June 5, 2009 | Bank of Lincolnwood | Lincolnwood, IL | $213 million | $70.9 million |
| May 22, 2009 | Citizens National Bank | Macomb, IL | $439 million | $30.3 million |
| May 22, 2009 | Strategic Capital Bank | Champaign, IL | $547 million | $92.7 million |
| February 27, 2009 | Heritage Community Bank | Glenwood, IL | $235 million | $48.2 million |
| February 13, 2009 | Corn Belt Bank and Trust Company | Pittsfield, IL | $260 million | $80.9 million |
| January 16, 2009 | National Bank of Commerce | Berkeley, IL | $420 million | $80.5 million |
| October 10, 2008 | Meridian Bank | Eldred, IL | $38.2 million | $16.6 million |
| June 27, 2002 | Universal Federal Savings Bank | Chicago, IL | $51.6 million | $274 thousand |
| July 27, 2001 | Superior Bank, FSB | Hinsdale, IL | $1.8 billion | $287 million |
| December 14, 2000 | The National State Bank of Metropolis | Metropolis, IL | $90.4 million | $2.7 million |
| Closed | Bank | Location | Total assets | Est. loss |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 1, 1993 | Eagle Bank of Champaign County, National Association | Rantoul, IL | $20.2 million | $679 thousand |
| November 20, 1992 | Irving Federal Bank For Savings | Chicago, IL | $247 million | $4.6 million |
| June 5, 1992 | Republic Savings Bank, FSB | Matteson, IL | $290 million | none |
| June 4, 1992 | Mayfair Bank | Chicago, IL | $32.2 million | $1.2 million |
| February 28, 1992 | Lemont Savings Association | Lemont, IL | $194 million | $53.0 million |
| February 7, 1992 | Kempton State Bank | Kempton, IL | $3.6 million | $564 thousand |
| November 22, 1991 | Western Savings and Loan Association | Clenview, IL | $33.2 million | $1.8 million |
| September 27, 1991 | United Savings of America | Chicago, IL | $1.2 billion | $63.5 million |
| July 19, 1991 | Cooperative Federal Savings and Loan Association | Westmont, IL | $74.9 million | $1 thousand |
| May 17, 1991 | The Cosmopolitan National Bank of Chicago | Chicago, IL | $110 million | $14.9 million |
| May 10, 1991 | Capitol Federal Bank for Savings | Chicago, IL | $39.3 million | none |
| May 3, 1991 | Century Federal Savings Bank | Chicago, IL | $25.9 million | $1.3 million |
| April 5, 1991 | First Savings Bank of Zion | Zion, IL | $63.2 million | $6.2 million |
| January 29, 1991 | Citizens National Bank & Trust Company of Chicago | Chicago, IL | $18.8 million | $2.6 million |
| December 27, 1990 | Enterprise Savings Bank, FA | Chicago, IL | $433 million | $12.6 million |
| December 14, 1990 | Home Federal Savings and Loan Association of Lake County | Waukegan, IL | $348 million | $19.6 million |
| December 14, 1990 | Olympic Federal Savings and Loan Association | Berwyn, IL | $1.1 billion | $73.9 million |
| August 17, 1990 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Tuscola | Tuscola, IL | $23.2 million | $2.0 million |
| August 10, 1990 | American Savings and Loan Association | Mt. Carmel, IL | $11.9 million | $1.8 million |
| August 3, 1990 | Hometown Savings and Loan Association, FA | Winfield, IL | $46.5 million | $6.3 million |
| July 13, 1990 | Summit First Federal Savings and Loan Association | Summit, IL | $57.8 million | none |
| June 22, 1990 | Germaniabank, A FSB | Alton, IL | $786 million | $60.7 million |
| May 25, 1990 | Bank Usa Savings Association | Silvis, IL | $22.9 million | none |
| March 2, 1990 | New Athens Savings and Loan Association | New Athens, IL | $30.4 million | $1.6 million |
| February 23, 1990 | Community Savings Bank | East Moline, IL | $112 million | $3.0 million |
| February 16, 1990 | Fidelity Savings and Loan Association of Danville | Danville, IL | $16.3 million | $1.1 million |
| February 16, 1990 | Great American Federal Savings and Loan Association | Oak Park, IL | $1.0 billion | $10.5 million |
| February 2, 1990 | Clyde Federal Savings and Loan Association | North Riverside, IL | $575 million | $54.3 million |
| January 18, 1990 | Frontier Financial | Belleville, IL | $45.3 million | $278 thousand |
| January 18, 1990 | Gem City Savings and Loan Association | Quincy, IL | $290 million | $11.6 million |
| January 11, 1990 | St Charles Savings and Loan Association | St. Charles, IL | $147 million | $6.1 million |
| January 11, 1990 | Horizon Federal Savings Bank | Wilmette, IL | $1.2 billion | $80.8 million |
| December 7, 1989 | Arlington Heights Federal Savings and Loan Association | Arlington Heights, IL | $509 million | $15 thousand |
| November 9, 1989 | Crest Savings | Kankakee, IL | $137 million | $22.4 million |
| November 9, 1989 | Fidelity Federal Savings and Loan Association | Galesburg, IL | $394 million | $46.6 million |
| September 7, 1989 | Citizens Savings and Loan Association of Springfield | Springfield, IL | $89.3 million | $6 thousand |
| August 24, 1989 | Heritage Savings and Loan | Jerseyville, IL | $32.9 million | $1 thousand |
| August 17, 1989 | Black Hawk Federal Savings and Loan Association | Rock Island, IL | $71.8 million | $1.8 million |
| August 17, 1989 | Security Savings and Loan Association, FA | Peoria, IL | $318 million | $23.5 million |
| July 20, 1989 | Peoples Bank for Savings | Streator, IL | $46.3 million | $19.7 million |
| June 29, 1989 | Amerimac Savings Bank, FSB | Hillsboro, IL | $29.6 million | $8.0 million |
| April 6, 1989 | First Federal Savings and Loan Association of East Alton | East Alton, IL | $55.6 million | $7.2 million |
| April 6, 1989 | Libertyville Federal Savings and Loan Association | Libertyville, IL | $101 million | $8 thousand |
| March 16, 1989 | First Savings of America, A Federal Savings and Loan Association | Orland Park, IL | $23.5 million | $31.4 million |
| March 16, 1989 | Home Federal Savings and Loan Association of Centralia | Centralia, IL | $47.6 million | $3.6 million |
| March 16, 1989 | Chillicothe Federal Savings and Loan Association | Chillicothe, IL | $51.0 million | $4.4 million |
| March 16, 1989 | American Security Federal Savings and Loan Association | Chicago, IL | $67.2 million | $2.6 million |
| March 16, 1989 | Illinois Savings Bank, FA | Peoria, IL | $78.0 million | $4.6 million |
| March 16, 1989 | Midwestern Savings Association | Macomb, IL | $111 million | $24.6 million |
| March 16, 1989 | Midwest Home FSB | Belleville, IL | $124 million | $15.6 million |
| March 16, 1989 | Madison County Federal Savings and Loan Association | Granite City, IL | $132 million | $24.4 million |
| March 16, 1989 | Home Federal Savings and Loan Association of Joliet | Joliet, IL | $141 million | $11.5 million |
| March 16, 1989 | Skokie Federal Savings and Loan Association | Skokie, IL | $1.0 billion | $117 million |
| February 24, 1989 | Mid-State Savings and Loan Association | Champaign, IL | $28.4 million | $8.0 million |
| February 17, 1989 | Concordia Federal Bank for Savings | Lansing, IL | $469 million | $63.2 million |
| November 4, 1988 | Mt. Zion State Bank | Mount Zion, IL | $26.4 million | none |
| February 27, 1987 | The Lewistown Bank | Lewistown, IL | $15.3 million | $4.2 million |
| February 13, 1987 | Life Savings of America, A FSB | Rockford, IL | $342 million | $116 million |
| January 9, 1987 | State Bank of Cuba | Cuba, IL | $18.3 million | $2.5 million |
| December 12, 1986 | First Savings of America | Orland Park, IL | $47.0 million | not estimated |
| August 20, 1986 | Mendon State Bank | Mendon, IL | $18.9 million | $8.0 million |
| July 25, 1986 | Central Illinois Savings, A FA | Virden, IL | $47.6 million | $18.7 million |
| August 9, 1985 | State Bank of Farmersville | Farmersville, IL | $12.0 million | $2.2 million |
| March 15, 1985 | The Taylor State Bank | Emington, IL | $5.0 million | $1.5 million |
| December 22, 1984 | First Security Bank | Sandwich, IL | $13.4 million | $1.0 million |
| July 12, 1984 | The Coffeen National Bank | Coffeen, IL | $9.4 million | $1.7 million |
| May 18, 1984 | Washington National Bank of Chicago | Chicago, IL | $14.1 million | $2.0 million |
| April 26, 1984 | United of America Bank | Chicago, IL | $38.1 million | $876 thousand |
| February 8, 1984 | Heritage Bank of Bureau County | Depue, IL | $8.7 million | $1.4 million |
| November 25, 1983 | Atkinson Trust & Savings Bank | Atkinson, IL | $21.1 million | $9.5 million |
| August 5, 1983 | The First National Bank of Danvers | Danvers, IL | $12.5 million | $3.2 million |
| July 8, 1983 | Union National Bank of Chicago | Chicago, IL | $26.3 million | $4.4 million |
| July 8, 1983 | Antioch Savings and Loan Association | Antioch, IL | $57.9 million | $3.2 million |
| April 29, 1983 | First National Bank of Oak Lawn | Oak Lawn, IL | $130 million | $21.4 million |
| April 8, 1983 | The Ina State Bank | Ina, IL | $17.7 million | $2.8 million |
| February 12, 1983 | American State Bank | Bradley, IL | $14.1 million | $1.2 million |
| February 3, 1983 | Manning Savings and Loan Association | Chicago, IL | $78.7 million | $19.8 million |
| October 8, 1982 | Tri-State Bank | Markham, IL | $16.3 million | none |
| August 27, 1982 | Security Bank and Trust Company | Cairo, IL | $12.0 million | $2.5 million |
| June 25, 1982 | Farmers State Bank of Lewistown | Lewiston, IL | $30.9 million | $8.2 million |
| May 1, 1982 | Coles County National Bank of Charleston | Charleston, IL | $26.8 million | $2.2 million |
| February 20, 1982 | LaSalle Bank, F.S.B. | Chicago, IL | $3.4 billion | $255 million |
| February 6, 1982 | The First National Bank and Trust Company of Tuscola | Tuscola, IL | $22.1 million | $2.7 million |
| May 18, 1981 | Economy Savings and Loan Association | Chicago, IL | $73.9 million | $22.0 million |
| March 14, 1981 | South Side Bank | Chicago, IL | $27.5 million | $3.5 million |
| March 14, 1981 | The Des Plaines Bank | Des Plaines, IL | $46.5 million | $1.1 million |
| October 11, 1980 | The Rochelle Bank and Trust Company | Rochelle, IL | $8.4 million | $778 thousand |
| July 14, 1979 | Guaranty Bank & Trust Company | Chicago, IL | $7.9 million | not estimated |
| July 14, 1979 | Gateway National Bank of Chicago | Chicago, IL | $16.9 million | not estimated |
| December 16, 1978 | North Point State Bank | Arlington, IL | $26.5 million | not estimated |
| January 19, 1978 | The Drovers' National Bank of Chicago | Chicago, IL | $227 million | not estimated |
| July 12, 1975 | State Bank of Clearing | Chicago, IL | $74.4 million | not estimated |
| February 17, 1971 | Farmers State Bank of Carlock | Carlock, IL | $2.2 million | not estimated |
| August 20, 1969 | First National Bank of Ursa | Ursa, IL | $2.1 million | not estimated |
| August 23, 1963 | Chatham Bank of Chicago | Chicago, IL | $19.1 million | not estimated |
| May 24, 1963 | The First Bank of Westmont | Westmont, IL | $7.1 million | not estimated |
| May 26, 1953 | First State Bank of Elmwood Park | Elmwood Park, IL | $17.5 million | not estimated |
| May 5, 1952 | Camden State Bank | Camden, IL | $838 thousand | not estimated |
| August 14, 1950 | The Farmers First National Bank of Minooka | Minooka, IL | $1.3 million | not estimated |
| January 25, 1947 | The First National Bank of Lemont | Lemont, IL | $1.7 million | not estimated |
| April 2, 1943 | Farmers State Bank of Cullom | Cullom, IL | $439 thousand | not estimated |
| January 29, 1941 | First State Bank & Trust Co. of Indianola | Indianola, IL | $195 thousand | not estimated |
| August 30, 1939 | Rardin State Bank | Rardin, IL | not reported | not estimated |
| August 28, 1939 | First State Bank of O'fallon | O'fallon, IL | $50 thousand | not estimated |
| April 14, 1939 | Bank of Brussels | Brussels, IL | not reported | not estimated |
| April 9, 1938 | The City National Bank of Harrisburg | Harrisburg, IL | not reported | not estimated |
| January 26, 1938 | Belleville Bank & Trust Company | Belleville, IL | not reported | not estimated |
| November 24, 1937 | First State Bank of Cobden | Cobden, IL | not reported | not estimated |
| October 18, 1937 | State Bank of Mundelein | Mundelein, IL | not reported | not estimated |
| September 8, 1937 | Roanoke State Bank | Roanoke, IL | $265 thousand | not estimated |
| May 27, 1937 | The Farmers National Bank of Grayville | Grayville, IL | not reported | not estimated |
| March 26, 1937 | Rio State Bank | Rio, IL | $384 thousand | not estimated |
| June 17, 1936 | The Peoples State Bank of Flat Rock | Flat Rock, IL | not reported | not estimated |
| May 28, 1934 | Fon Du Lac State Bank | East Peoria, IL | $374 thousand | not estimated |